Home > Uncategorized > Tony Massarotti and I have a fight. Oh. And John Henry’s rich.

Tony Massarotti and I have a fight. Oh. And John Henry’s rich.

Hi, sports fans. Thursdays suck, right? You know. Because they are not Fridays. Oh, and because you’re on crutches. Yeah. I broke my ankle again. We’re not going to talk about how. I’ll just let you speculate.

But I’m fine. See?

Concentrate on THAT picture.

And not THIS picture. Of the giant boot on what used to be my foot.

Some people break records.

I break ankles.

I need a theme song.

A co-worker sent me this- it actually appeared in a Charlotte Observer last week. Read the whole thing. When you get to the copy-edit fail, you’ll fall out of your seat. Don’t break your ankle! It sucks.

In actual, relevant-to-my-blog news, Forbes used the word “foible” in a headline when describing our own John Henry. What a great word!

A tell-all article is referenced. And it’s quite intriguing.

Henry, who has been the Red Sox’s principle owner for the last decade, is worth $1.1 billion according to the 2011 Forbes 400 list. He built his fortune with the hedge fund J.W. Henry & Company, and now owns part of the Liverpool F.C. soccer team, New England Sports Network (NESN), and Roush Fenway Racing. According to Bailey, that wealth hasn’t exactly endeared him to his employees, even outside the realm of his private life.

Quite intriguing indeed.

Plus, did I mention it uses the word “foible?”

—-

Our other fearless leader, Bobby Valentine, has foibles of his own- in Maine. He’s attending a charity dinner there with Jarrod Saltalamacchia. Maybe they’ll talk Tek. It would be nice if someone would actually talk Tek. And not speculate. Or HATE, Tony Massarotti (but I’ll get to that).

Oh, and there’s an interesting article about how we don’t need to “overexert” ourselves financially to build up our rotation. Really? It’s not your cash. It’s Boston’s.

It’s obvious that Boston would love to add another starter or two for this season. In an ideal world, the trio of Jon Lester, Josh Beckett and Clay Buchholz would be accompanied by two proven starters for an entire year. As it stands right now, with Daniel Bard and Alfredo Aceves shifting to the rotation, the Sox are looking at a four-horse race for the final two spots, with Felix Doubront and Andrew Miller also expected to compete during spring training.

That might not seem like a very intimidating back-end of the rotation, especially considering how much starting pitching woes contributed to the Red Sox’ September collapse. But with the remaining free-agent starters commanding such high asking prices, jumping the gun wouldn’t exactly be the best allocation of resources, either.

Am I the only one that thinks they SHOULD over-exert themselves? Seriously. It’s not our money, kids. And I’m still so irritated at Soxsplosion, 2011, that billions and billions and katrillions of dollars seems like a fine way to appease me.

It’s like how, in Monopoly, you’ll spend your last $500 on Boardwalk. But in real-life, you refuse to pay more than $5 for a sandwich.

This isn’t real life, people. It’s baseball.

SPEND EVERYTHING, Red Sox.

You heard me.

And that’s not the pain meds.

It’s PROBABLY not the pain meds. I would be GREAT at Jeopardy.

—-

I’m at work.

And I read this other article about Bailey “thriving.” So many colorful words today.

Aren’t you guys glad I google so you don’t have to? This blog is such a public service. You are all so fortunate to have me.

—-

Bobby Jenks, aka: The Pink Goat, had his surgery today.  Oh. It’s a spinal decompression. Um. K.

Jenks, who was a closer for the Chicago White Sox before coming to Boston to take on the role of setup man, isn’t expected to be ready for activity until sometime in March.

Fine by me.

Maybe that will turn into March 2013. Or March never.

Oh, and Mazz made an enemy today.

Tony Massarotti. I have put up with a lot of your shit over the years. A LOT of it.

But this comment you made about MY Jason Varitek?

“I wouldn’t bring him back,” Mazz said. “I said this at the end of the year. They need to flush out some of the old guard in there. Some of these players are getting a little too much power, they’re getting a little too comfortable, and they’ve been there for too long.”

Yes, MASSAROTTI. Some people HAVE been there for too long.

Let’s see. Tek was drafted in 1994.

When did you start covering Boston sports, Massarotti? Oh. Right.

Massarotti joined the Boston Herald in 1989, and covered the Boston Red Sox for the paper from 1994

Thanks, wikipedia.

That is all.

~L

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. FireDannyAinge
    January 5, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    Mass is a tool. Steve Buckley is the only quality reporter this state has.

  2. FireDannyAinge
    January 5, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    Oh that is horrible about the herniated you know what LMAO

  3. January 5, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    I didn’t see anything after the herniated thingy. Nothing at all. I was too busy LMAO. (I didn’t break my ankle.)

  4. January 5, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    Heal soon, TooSoxy. Perhaps John Henry will pay for ankle replacement surgery for you? He certainly has the coin.

  5. January 5, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    Heal up Mr Davis, soon enough you can hold your head up high once again.

  6. January 6, 2012 at 6:47 am

    The herniated thing and picture at the end are awesome.

  7. January 7, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    Ouch, a broken ankle’s gotta hurt. I feel bad for you. I have no idea what foible means and I’m too lazy to look it up. Like so many other words though, it sounds like some formal word used in England. Anyhow, John Henry’s filthy rich. Red Sox, Liverpool, NESN, and more? Wow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

