Home > Uncategorized > Ben Cherington reads my blog, you guys!

Ben Cherington reads my blog, you guys!

I think he’s my Twitter pal too. Know how I know?

I JUUUUUUSSSTTTT finished twittering my terrible, awful, icky, no-good day

when I see THIS on twitter from multiple sources: Red Sox have made an offer to David Ortiz. Non-twitter sources are backing this up.

You’re welcome, guys.

I’m 100 percent positive Ben Cherington did this for me.

Now’s the wait and see…

~L

10:52 p.m.: Okay. Here’s the skinny as I know it from EXTRA BASES: Ortiz’ agent, Fern Cuza, is meeting Red Sox in about an hour. And- wait… uhoh.

But Cuza is now meeting with Orioles GM Dan Duquette, another team that could have interest in Ortiz.

YOU BACK OFF, DUQUETTE. YOU BACK OFF NOW. WE are the FIRST OPTION. Boston Herald says so.

While we’re waiting, let’s review a great Ortiz quote, shall we, FDA?

“I never said I would sign with the Yankees. No, no, no, no, don’t be twisting (expletive) up,” David Ortiz.

Your word for it, Papi. Your word…

Updates likely to follow… check back.

11:05- and more buzz. Thanks, Fenway West.

11:21- and MASN has picked up the story– says Orioles need a big bat-

Yes, the Orioles would need to keep Ortiz and Kevin Gregg on opposite sides of the clubhouse. I’m sure Duquette is aware of their history.

Okay. It is 11:47. My tequila and I have been updating google news constantly and there is no update. So I am going to assume that this is for-real happening. Now. If a boy would just call me back my life would be complete.

Crap. I have to work tomorrow, don’t I?

My life would be so swell if I didn’t have that work thing.

Would you hire me at your better job? Hey, NESN… I hear there might be a Heidi opening…

12:01. You know. I bet there’s at least one other person updating his Google news alerts right now.

The 2:13 a.m. update. Yes. I am still awake.

2:46. insomnia is stupid. But Hardball’s in on the Ortiz action.

Good morning! 8 a.m. update.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jay
    November 16, 2011 at 6:40 am

    Hey thanks for reading my blog over at jaylizotte.com

    I have to disagree with the Ortiz stuff though. On paper right now the team is a fourth place club. They have a third baseman in the mix that clearly can’t play 162 game at that position. Unless they’re planning on trading Youk (which I’ve suggested) they need to sign a third baseman and platoon him with Youk and let Youk DH the other games. If that’s the case, I let Ortiz walk.

  2. FireDannyAinge
    November 16, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Would, could, SICK OF THE DRAMA, Don’t really care. He is currently dead to me until I get over my heartbreak. It isn’t happening any time soon

  3. November 16, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Well, of course the O’s are interested, why wouldn’t they be? They’re desperate for a big name veteran bat in that line-up, but they don’t have a chance of finishing higher than 3rd in the AL East so that will limit Papi’s interest right there, even if they can afford him. If Ortiz were to walk, one would have to believe he’ll only do it with a team that is on the championship cusp aka Texas, LA Angels, Detroit or The Yanks… of these teams, the ‘Bombers would need to clear roster space, The Tigers are pretty set with V-Mart at DH and both the Halos and Rangers are in the Prince Fielder holding patern (which may be too long for Ortiz’ agent to wait).

    Youk on the other hand… 3B is a gaping hole of talent across both leagues so the interest is there. However David Wright of the Mets is also ‘on the market’ for those who feel Aramis Ramirez is too pricey and just too slow. With Youk recovering from multiple season-ending injuries, we’ll see as most will probably be looking for him to fill a 1B/3B/DH platoon, as he will for Boston. Colorado and the Angels have been discussed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

