Home > Uncategorized > ‘I came to add to my ring collection.’

‘I came to add to my ring collection.’

Watch this video clip. It helps with the Papel-grieving.

How does it feel to get all that moolah, Paps?

“That really doesn’t play a role.”

Yeah. Okay.

“I think the one guy to make teams in Major League Baseball realize how important closers are… is Mariano Rivera… I’m just following in his footsteps.”

Footsteps? It’s not footsteps in my imagination.

It’s swimming strokes.

It’s getting easier and easier to quit you, Paps.

~L

First seen on Fenway West.

The press conference is at 5. Let’s not watch it.

OH NO. They have ALREADY changed his Wikipedia page. Don’t click it. You’ll feel bitter.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 14, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Do you want him back or not? Still time to swap out urine samples…he thinks his name is worthy in the same breath as Rivera? I’m not sure that Citizens Bank Park has doorways big enough for his head to get through…

  2. FireDannyAinge
    November 14, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    I was going to write a blog with the exact same headlines but last time I checked papelbon didn’t have a ring collection. He had one ring.

  3. November 14, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    At the end of the day… Pap’ did just what he has said for several years in hitting the market and taking the biggest deal he could. He’s always acted mercenary about it, only signing one year deals till he hit the market… and cashed in. Now he has to perform and live up to the biggest contract for a reliever.

    Now everyone can rest easy in the knowledge that the Sox will be making a play to keep Ortiz and probably land a solid #4 starter (Mark Burhlie).

  4. November 15, 2011 at 2:08 am

    Ring collection? Oh, yeah. I mean, I suppose he also has a wedding band and like a class ring or something. It seems to me like you’d need at least three of something to have a collection. Hey, you lost a great closer. But is he still going to be a great closer by the end of that contract? And at least he’s out of the AL and not someone your guys are going to have to face a couple of series a season.
    — Kristen

  5. cybellekate
    November 17, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    I’m really getting into this whole “now he has to perform” thing. Here’s hoping he Papel-sucks as a Philly.

    • November 17, 2011 at 2:20 pm

      oh! me too! pressure! performance anxiety! i think he’s going to jenks himself. get it? like bobby JENKS?! ohmygod i am having the longest day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

