Home > Uncategorized > My mid-life crisis at 27.

My mid-life crisis at 27.

So. I still live in North Carolina.

So. I can’t afford to move.

No. Let me rephrase.

I can’t afford to move AND spend $1,500 a month on a “summer home.”

I tried.

Believe me.

I tried.

I’m going to go finish my good cry now and eat cookie dough.

PS-

The boy was here yesterday and we went to eat lunch at a place that had television screens.

ESPN COULD have shown Cardinals clips. You know. Since they are relevant.

But what was on the 15 minute repeat?

Oh, Jon Lester’s fried chicken comments.

AWESOME prioritization, ESPN.

Okay. Back to crying.

Thanks.

~L

And there will be other opportunities that A) Pay me enough to live or B) Are located in Boston specific.

Did I tell you they offered me… *trying to hold back tears* SEASON RED SOX TICKETS?

I’m okay.

I’m going to be okay.

DAMNIT

There will be other opportunities. Right? Right? RIGHT?

I suddenly feel very, very claustrophobic.

Oh, and speaking of the boy. Feel very sorry for him. Not only did he have to hear me mope about said job for the duration of his 24-hour visit, but he had to hear my midlife crisis feeeeelings talk. I, (that’s right, ME) had a talk about feelings. <- SEE WHAT DECISIONS DO TO ME?

He gets points for not scurrying.

When does adulthood actually get easier?

Crying.

Right. Back to that.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 19, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    That sucks Lauren. Sorry.

  2. cybellekate
    October 19, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Oh Lauren, adulthood sucks. I’m not sure it ever gets easier. That’s why there’s cookie dough. And baseball. Boston will still be here. You’re young yet. There will be other opportunities. And no I’m not just saying that. And you should and can still get up here for at least one game next year. Vs. the Stankees??? I’ll go!!

  3. Jup
    October 19, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    Go ahead and have your cookie dough cry fest. Like you said, there will be other opportunities, and when you’re done emoting it should be hot stove season and the Sox will start the healing process. Just hang in there

  4. October 20, 2011 at 2:48 am

    Adulthood doesn’t get much easier, sorry to say. That’s why I try to avoid it, or at least be somewhat in denial about it whenever possible. I’m sorry this opportunity didn’t work out for you! $1500 a month? Yikes! That’s worse than L.A. There will be other Boston opportunities, maybe even such that you can afford to live and buy your own season tickets. And a boy you can sometimes assail with a lengthy feelings talk _and_ talk baseball with? That’s a keeper boy.
    — Kristen

  5. October 20, 2011 at 8:37 am

    What are these “feelings” of which you refer? I’m not sure I know what that is, although my ex-wife may have mentioned them a few times, but I never really paid attention. lol j/k, I was actually sobbing throughout your post, because of all the tears this is the third keyboard I’ve had to swap out since I started reading it. 😉 Ok, not really. But I understand how much it does suck not to be able to do what you really want to do. I had to wait until I was 39 before I was finally able to make my big move, which ironicly was to move from my home state of Massachusetts to North Carolina. If you keep looking eventually the right opportunity at the right time does come along. Hang in there.

    Hope I made you laugh, even if just a little.

  6. October 20, 2011 at 10:16 am

    Hey, I’m twice that old and have no earthly idea what the hell I’m doing. (The cookie dough high will soon be replaced by, “my god, I can’t fit into this room.” Easy on that stuff.) “This Is” said it best. Adulthood doesn’t get much easier…and denial is not just a river in Egypt but the way to work around that fact. The boy gets huge points for not departing. Kudos to the boy.

  7. FireDannyAinge
    October 20, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    I am poor too. I know how you feel.

    They offered you season tickets? wow.

    15 hundred is insane.

    I sad,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

