Home > Sox Game Recaps > Gaudy wins and sunshine

Gaudy wins and sunshine

Our numbers are gaudy! Our numbers are gaudy! That’s according to THIS article.

Oh, and it’s also according to the numbers. Numbers like 62-37. And 16-3 (that’s July. With TWO starters on the DL. Oh. And a Dice-K).

And… Jonny’s finally responding to the Lester signal tonight. Jon Lester! Coming off the DL always makes me nervous. Remember Dice-K? But we’ve got Daniel Bard waiting in the wings. And Johnny Paps. So it’s a recipe for success.

One person’s not worried at all:

“I don’t need [tonight’s] start to put it to rest,’’ Lester said Friday.

“We’ve tested it enough. I’ve had plenty of long toss, so it’s definitely not something that’s on my mind.’’

Oh, oh, oh! And Tito and I have something in common. Guess what his 1,000th victory food is?

“Had a grilled cheese sandwich,’’ he said. “Always have a grilled cheese sandwich.’’

Me too, Tito! Me too! I get made fun of for ordering grilled cheese sandwiches all the time. Well, make fun of me no more, America. Tito’s down with the GC. And it’s sunny outside.

What a great day.

And there’s even a pro-Youkie article. You read that now.

In not-surprising-crappy-news: Drew is on the DL list. Sure. Okay. Whatever floats your boat, Tito…

You’ve deserved a floaty boat.

~L

PS- Here’s a fun bite asking a question: Who’s the greatest Red Sox pitcher of all time? I tend to go with Pedro. But I have recent memory to work with. What do you think?

Categories: Sox Game Recaps
  1. July 25, 2011 at 10:28 am

    I would be remiss if I didn’t say Jim Loberg, even though a skiing accident didn’t leave him with much after the magic summer of 1967, the summer of Yaz and of an unlikely, Impossible Dream AL pennant.

  2. July 25, 2011 at 10:29 am

    I meant, of course, Lonberg, or Lonnie for short.

  3. July 25, 2011 at 10:31 am

    Geez, it’s Lonborg, Lauren. So sorry.

  4. Jup
    July 25, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    I can’t imagine going with anyone but Pedro. Then again, I don’t consider anything that happened before I was born relevant, so I’m sure I’m missing out on a ton of good pitchers.

  5. July 26, 2011 at 11:00 am

    No matter how you spell it, Jim L came to mind when I first saw the question! I wish I still had his baseball card. Then again, I wish I still had ALL my baseball cards…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

