Home > Previews and pep talks, Sox Game Recaps > 1,000!!! Tito, today (um, yesterday?) was for you!

1,000!!! Tito, today (um, yesterday?) was for you!

1,000. That’s how many managerial wins Tito has under his cap. His saucy, saucy cap.

“It’s really not that big a deal,” Francona said after Saturday night’s 3-1 win over the Seattle Mariners. “I’m appreciative about the opportunity I have, because I really caught a break. This is a great organization with a lot of really good players. And I’m really fortunate. Other than that, I’d like to keep the spotlight on the players.”

It’s kind of a big deal.

“Oh, man, when you win 1,000 games, I mean you’ve been on top of your game,” said Ortiz, turning serious for a moment. “After the years here, and watching him get to that point, is something very special.”

Speaking of milestones- Check out Daniel Bard (who went to school in… NORTH CAROLINA).

Setting a Red Sox record with 21 scoreless appearances. He’s good. NASTY GOOD, according to some people.

And did you know that Wake is TWO games away from his 200th career victory?  Hello tomorrow.

We’re just setting all kinds of records, aren’t we?

“I think as long as he can throw the knuckleball and stay healthy, he can play until he wants to hang it up,” third baseman Kevin Youkilis said. “He’s doing a great job for us. Sometimes he’s going to have the knuckleball not move as much and guys are going to get hits and other times it’s moving and guys aren’t going to have a chance.”

In other news… a looming trade deadline that still has everyone talking. Here is an article about how’s there’s zero chance of a Yankees trade… Here’s one on our trade philosophy… Here’s one where Lucchino rejects talk that we’ve capped our spending…Here’s one on A’s right hander Rich Harden…

Yeah. Bored again.

Let’s go back to talking about how badassawesome we are.

It’s good to be a gangster. Right, Daniel Bard? Right. I love us.

—-

I spent the day on the river. Ahhhhh… the river.

And then drove home into a pink sunset. The kind you don’t have in Boston. So there.

And then I went to a bar. And on the way to the bar… marveled at signs like this:

No, really! What does it say? Is it vulgar? Does. Not. Compute.

And then a guy in a Yankees hat told me I had a “fine skirt” here.

Why are there so many Yankees fans in Boone?

A Dierks Bentley (???) concert meant Boone was a sea of pricks. Who is Dierks Bentley?

Oh, and a 6.5 snubbed me. No, really. Which is interesting, because I’m at least an 8.5. That’s like… 2 snub points. And I don’t like snub points. No.

And Meg was like, “Lauren, your rating system is skewed.” And I was like, so is your face. And she was like, “Give me an example of a 10.” And I was like… um… Kevin Youkilis. And she looked him up on her phone and gave me a quirk brow. And she was like, “Give me another one.” And I said Tim Thomas. And she got all quirk browed again. And then I said Mike Lowell and she looked him up and stopped with the quirking. There was so much quirking in this conversation, you don’t even know. It’s hard to be the only person that gets me.

So, it’s been a weird weekend. And I’m ready to help T-Wake make his milestone by infusing pep through a computer screen. Let’s do this. Oh, yes. Let’s do this.

It is 3 a.m. And I just got home. I know. I’m soooooo like a real adult. Weekends off confuse me. I am tired. When I was in tv this was the time I woke up. I’m too old for this. Battling 21-year-olds at bars is how 27-year-olds get wrinkles.

But the river was fun.

~L

PS: AND- Expect a LIVE BLOG at 1:35…

  1. July 24, 2011 at 11:42 am

    You? Old at 28? I’ve always loved the Neil Young song that contained the lyric “24 and there’s SO much more.” The song’s name? Old Man (“take a look at my life. I’m the same as you are.”) I love that beautiful Neil Young tune.

    As for you, don’t worry about getting too old. GO TIMMY. GO SOX. Go Lauren.

  2. July 24, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    27! 27! I’m sooo not ready for 28 yet!

  3. FireDannyAinge
    July 24, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Tim Thomas is freaking adorable. Your friend is doozy bats. I am a bad Itlaian. That is spelled wrong.

  4. July 25, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    You make me laugh, talking about being old at 27.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

