Home > Previews and pep talks > A new day.

A new day.

John Lackey who?

No, seriously. I have hit the reset button on my brain. I have one. Seriously. Why do you think I even allowed myself to watch “City of Angels” when I had ALREADY seen “Gone in Sixty Seconds?”

Amnesia is totally real. As reflected in this soap opera clip.

That can totally happen. Okay.

Reset button amnesia. GO.

John Lackey who?

Record? What record? Cloud nine, baby!

Oops. Sorry. I accidentally reset my brain back too far.

Okay. And three… two… one…

Here we go.

Boy, I’m glad we finally won won against Phillie. Didn’t want a sandwich sweep.

What a great day.

And Jon LESTER is pitching! Jon… what does that one syllable fill me with such dread? JOH-

Recalculating…

Jon Lester is pitching, you guys!

Boy, it’s great to be a Boston fan.

Wait… WHAT?????

Youk isn’t in the lineup?

BECAUSE HE WAS HURT?

In a game with… John… John Lackey… who is John Lackey?

WAIT A MINUTE…

DAMNIT. Recalculating…

Seriously. Jon Lester. All this resetting is doing things in my brain. Sometimes, late at night… I can still hear the screaming.

It’s as if millions of voices suddenly cried out in terror and… with a pitch… were suddenly silenced…

Hey, it’s still relevant, people.

I’m okay.

What a nightmare. For a moment, I thought I could actually quote Star Wars.

It’s okay. I’m okay. We’ll all be okay. There’s a place for us. A time and place for us… SOMEWHERE.

LOOK AT WHAT YOU ARE DOING TO ME, BOSTON!!!!!!

But Jon Lester. Baseball. Good. Win. We will. Yes.

And Youkie-poo only has a bruised back. Thanks be to Fisk.

With Youkilis out, Dustin Pedroia drops to the cleanup spot for the second time in less than a week. Last week, with Youkilis out with a left ankle contusion, Pedroia was 1 for 5 with a home run in a game against the Phillies.

Someone come drive me to Boston. Oh, and buy me Red Sox tickets. Thanks. Oh, and bring me caffeine. Because I’m goofy without it.

Oh look… a duck…

~L

And, as for YOU, John Lackey…

  1. July 5, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Maybe that’s why Tito juggled the rotation. So, we could be rewarded with a Lester start after sitting trough a Lackey outing.

  2. July 5, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Bah. I’ve got a fiver on DL for Lackey.

  1. July 5, 2011 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

