Home > Previews and pep talks, Scary Red Sox Rants > Since 1972. I was negative 12 in 1972.

Since 1972. I was negative 12 in 1972.

The Bruins are about to sip champagne from the Stanley Cup for the first time since 1972, a year when, I hear, there were a lot more sodas in glass bottles.

It’s kind of a big deal.

You know.

Like your brain getting oxygen, kind of a big deal.

And Nicholas Cage. Never being in a movie again.

That would be amazing.

Like a Bruins win.

But Tim Thomas, baby, I would watch all the Nicholas Cage movies in the world if… okay… I’d watch like, at least two (God, please not City of Angels) if it would help inspire you to victory.

I would sit through a six hour town council meeting if… Oh. Right. I did that this week.

I would spend hours pouring over tax records if… oh. Right. Did that too.

I would… um… (insert it here) if you would just win for me today.

And, you know, for yourselves and all…

See, I’ve had a bad day at work. A… really bad day. Of sorting through tax records and sitting through meetings. Long ones. Of fantasizing about other places, other papers and maybe working on a cruise ship.

And I have a meeting today where food will be served (usually a yay) but, since I’m in Boone, North Carolina, there’s a good chance there will be bacon grease (ew) in the fried apples and I’ll be late for my (um, our) hockey game.

This may not mean anything to you, Tim Thomas, but beard combs don’t mean anything to me, and I would totally get you one if you asked me to.

That being said, I am making no sense. It’s like Jabberwocky, but this day doesn’t rhyme, baby.

See how much I need a win, Tim?

MAYBE, if you won for me, I would make sense.

Most sincerely,

Lauren

 

 

 

  1. FireDannyAinge
    June 15, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    The Bruins need to win this for Tim Thomas. He deserves this cup and credit and he deserves to be a Champion.

    I want this so badly but I want it for Timmy more then I want it for anyone. He deserves this. The Bruins deserve this. Now they just have to go earn it the old fashioned way. Hard work and an 8 goal lead after the first:)

  2. June 16, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    I never did volunteer that I always wanted to go to an App State football game in Boone. Boone looks cool to visit and I love their stadium and atmosphere from seeing those Playoff games over the years. Been to NC several times but never to that part of it. (as I type this Vancouver is still putting out the fires so I figured I’d change the comments up a bit…CONGRATS BRUIN FANS!)

  3. June 16, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Yep. I get free tickets through work. So, if you’re ever in town, let me know in advance and I can have some waiting for ya.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

