Home > Previews and pep talks, Sox Game Recaps > Bruins lose. Sox win (barely). Lackey’s back. God help us all.

Bruins lose. Sox win (barely). Lackey’s back. God help us all.

I don’t want to talk about the Bruins losing.

I don’t want to talk about what almost happened with the Sox yesterday.

And I DO NOT want to talk about the strong possibility of horrid happenings today (JOHN LACKEY).

My family is in town and we are going to watch the Heat game tonight.

I haven’t watched a basketball game since I stopped seeing obsessive, wolf fingered (it’s a fan thing, OKAY?) NC-State fan, so there’s a possibility of PTSD. You know, the guy who said (after so many state games. SO MANY), it’s okay, Lauren, I’ll make it up to you during baseball season, and then forced me to break up with him. THAT GUY. I’m okay.

Any tips? It’s my family, so I have to pretend to fit in.

How does one play a convincing basketball fan? I have a Heat shirt. Maybe I’ll blend?

L

  1. June 5, 2011 at 11:09 am

    L – tell them you remain concerned about the Heat’s ability to close out games like Game 2 on Thursday…which reminded you of how they failed at times during the regular season. This will establish a) you know of Game 2’s results and b) you know of a reputation the team had from earlier in the year. You are covered both short and long-term. You can also say you are still confused why the Heat did not foul with a foul to give at the end of Game 2, and/or why Chris was covering Dirk. You’re good to go now. (just your luck to find the one person still thinking N.C. State basketball is relevant…the chances of that…wow)

  2. June 5, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    in North Carolina? The chances are good… 🙂

  3. firedannyainge
    June 5, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Perhaps the best part of the Heat taking this series (I am thinking ahead) is Wade winning MVP over Lebron.

    Cleveland will be able to deal with this I think. Maybe not at first but I can hear the chants in Cleveland next years

    FINALS MVP- NOT Lebron
    FINALS MVP- NOT Lebron

    or
    MVP NOT LEBRON
    MVP NOT LEBRON

  4. firedannyainge
    June 5, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Oh yea and GO SOX!

    P,S,-Wake up Bruins

  5. June 6, 2011 at 6:53 am

    I’m so lucky that most of my family is all about baseball and couldn’t give a lick about basketball. And I live right next to Maverick-land. Couldn’t care less who wins. I just want to be OVER so baseball will be the main focus for a while. At least until football training camp begins. Sigh.

  1. October 26, 2011 at 11:47 am

Leave a Reply

