Home > Previews and pep talks > An off-day. Time to prioritize, people. This means YOU.

An off-day. Time to prioritize, people. This means YOU.

Okay. Lightbulb jokes: check.

The winner? Clearly SportsAttitudes.

“Just one. Derek Jeter. Since he can’t get on base anymore Yanks hoping he’d be electrocuted so they have “act of god” reason and not upset fan base for taking him out voluntarily…look to the base of the bulb socket to do that instead.”

Congrats, SA, enjoy your virtual cookie. I imagine it looks a lot like this, except in your imagination:

With just over 24 hours go go, we’ve still got a lot of work to do in the puns, department, dearies.

So, let’s brainstorm: Yankee puns.

There are several different joke categories we haven’t touched-

The I like my Yankees like I like my _(noun)_, _______ <- witty pun phrase in the “I like my women like I like my coffee” variety. I think this is where you could really excel, Shawn.

Oh! And the… “15 Yankees walk into a bar” jokes. FDA, I imagine you can come up with some zingers. You too, Peter.

And, don’t forget the your mom jokes. My favorite is “Your MOM likes the Yankees.” Take it away, Jeb. And Jup. I think you’ll be great at this category. You too, BuckStopsHere. And BoSoxBias.

And there are so many names to rhyme. Let’s work on punny nicknames for Jorge Posada, shall we? Get on it, Dmitri. And Bickleyhouse. Derek Jeter. That one should be easy! You too, thepaulw. Get with it. And Alex Rodriguez- take it away, SportsAttitudes.

If we all work together, we can come up with an arsenal! You’ll see! And you commenters I didn’t name- come up with something fabulous, okay? Move people!

Eeek! We forgot Knock Knock jokes! So much to do!

Hurry, people! We’re running out of time!!!!

~L

  1. cybellekate
    May 12, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Whore-hay. It doesn’t get any better than that. More mature, maybe, but not better. 😀

  2. FireDannyAinge
    May 13, 2011 at 1:32 am

    I am thinking about changing the name of my blog to Kill Danny Ainge, Fire Doc Rivers, Drown Wyc Grousbeck (evil celtics owner) and whack Paul Pierce in the knee’s twenty times with a tire iron. Do you think I sound violent?

    I really want that cookie. Maybe it’s time for a snickers bar?

  3. May 13, 2011 at 7:29 am

    It’s early. All I can think of is “Georgie Porgie,” which is really silly. I’ll keep working on that one.

  4. May 13, 2011 at 8:47 am

    now i know you kids can do better than that. no cookies until we pun the crap out of the stankees. <- see, that was slightly punny

  5. May 13, 2011 at 10:47 am

    I was about to type thanks much for the award on the punchline…but I find myself now having to clean up this sticky iced tea that crossed my keyboard when I read FDA’s proposed blog name change. I wlll say after wiping down my monitor that it came up cleaner at least. In light of FDA’s comment and desire, would you consider giving FDA a cookie also?

  6. May 13, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    no cookies until SOMEONE gives me a good pun.

  7. May 13, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    What implement have most all strippers in New York had experience with? A-Rod.
    (I feel complete shame but I am trying to get FDA a cookie…please understand)

  8. FireDannyAinge
    May 13, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Thanks SportAttitude. I still want that damn cookie. Oh focus FireDannyAinge, Focus.

    A good Yankee pun…… I got nothing.

    P.S.- Sorry about your keyboard and monitor.

  9. FireDannyAinge
    May 13, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    Here is the definition of a pun if anyone needs help

    “A play on words, sometimes on different senses of the same word and sometimes on the similar sense or sound of different words.”

  1. May 14, 2011 at 1:26 am

Leave a Reply

