Home > Sox Game Recaps > Lackey TAKES RESPONSIBILITY for something. World ending? Or midlife crisis?

Lackey TAKES RESPONSIBILITY for something. World ending? Or midlife crisis?

Well… world ending would explain a few things about the ALE…

You did read the headline correctly. ESPN reports John Lackey actually giving a genuine “my bad.”

“If I had pitched better early on, I think guys might have found a little more energy for use today. I think my lack of execution and my lack of pitching well definitely hurt that, I guess, morale, whatever you want [to call it].”

The gods themselves do tremble.

Shall we hear more, or shall we speak at this?

“I didn’t pitch well, I didn’t deserve to win this one.”

Gasp!

Oh, there’s more. This is probably where he starts randomly blaming people again:

Lackey, who was booed loudly as he left the mound by a crowd that needed only to glance at the new video board to see his ERA had risen to 7.16, took the bullets for this one, especially when someone asked if he and catcher Jarrod Saltalamacchia did not mesh as well as they had in previous starts.

“Salty had nothing to do with it,” Lackey said. “I pitched bad.

“My head shakes fine from side to side. If I throw it, it’s my fault.”

Quick! Somebody go find the real John Lackey. He can’t pitch either, but at least he gives us something arrogant to mock.

Categories: Sox Game Recaps
  1. Jup
    May 6, 2011 at 11:47 am

    It would be way better if he had come out and said, “I was horrible. I’m gonna go retire now. Bye, everyone!” But I guess that’s TOO much to hope for…

  2. Shawn
    May 6, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    I guess I’m a bit more suspicious, because when I had read those quotes the first thing I thought was that he wanted to get the subject of everyone being tired and thus playing poorly out on the table, and then have us give him a pass on this one because he was one of those tired guys too. Too snarky? I swear that’s what immediately came to mind when I read it. How about the other team, they played late too, and are even on the road, and yet they lit it up. All I can say is I’m glad I didn’t get to see this stinker of a game.

  3. FireDannyAinge
    May 6, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    He totally looks like that thing from Goonies.lol

    Sox lost again and as mad as I was the Bruins woke up. I now feel better.

    The Red Sox are saving their wins for after the Bruins win the Stanley cup. My timmy deserves a stanley cup.

  4. May 6, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    see… i like hockey. i do. but i fully admit my fanship of hockey is bandwagony. see, i’d be at a red sox bar. baseball would be over. still drinking beer. hockey’s on. lauren’s an insta-fan!
    but since i moved here and there are no boston bars… i’m just sort of kinda paying attention…
    like… if it’s on, yay… but if it’s not on… i um… might check the score?
    but go bruins.
    i like GOING to hockey games.
    maybe i should be more invested? like, if i’m going to be slightly bandwagony, maybe i should just jump on the full wagon? i mean, playoffs… that’s when bandwagoners like me are supposed to strut, right? i can strut.
    and… um… the sox are… um…
    maybe i need a new obsession?
    like… hockey?
    i could have both. i could have both?
    stupid joe west.

  5. FireDannyAinge
    May 7, 2011 at 12:00 am

    What is great about being Bruins crazy right now is it takes my mind off the sox. I was SOOOOOO Po’ed earlier until the Bruins kept scoring goal after goal after goal (you know kind of like how the red sox can’t scores any runs but the opposite) and now I feel better.

    However if the Bruins start falling a part I will have to do or die by the Sox and gosh darn it that can’t happen to me.

  6. May 7, 2011 at 12:01 am

    bandwagon, here i come! hope there’s room!

  1. June 17, 2011 at 1:59 pm
  2. July 27, 2011 at 2:35 pm
  3. October 26, 2011 at 11:47 am

Leave a Reply

