Home > Sox Game Recaps > Going down with the ship

Going down with the ship

A captain to the end, Tek takes the blame for last night’s weird play.

“I’m trying to figure out — it’s probably the weirdest play I’ve ever been part of,” Varitek said. “I’m trying to see and learn what I could have done different besides, obviously, tagging him, but I didn’t actually see the play. I saw him scramble. For me, it looked like, when he threw the ball, it was from behind the base, so I just tried to secure an out. Obviously, he touched the bag as he threw the ball.”

It’s sweet really. An apology? An acknowledgment? The exact opposite of what JOHN LACKEY does EVERY TIME he flubs…

Because adults, you see (ahem, JOHN LACKEY), they take responsibility for their mistakes.

But Cap, you can’t take the blame for last night. The tiara in the I-screwed-up-can-I-still-take-my-money-home-? pageant goes to….

DENNYS REYES.

Who, along with the sash and tiara, HOPEFULLY won a one-way trip to Pawtuckett.

Jon Lester.

We battle at noon.

PS- Youk totally did it on purpose. What do you think?

~L

We weren’t the only ones who had a bad day Wednesday. Buahahaha.

Categories: Sox Game Recaps
  1. April 7, 2011 at 9:30 am

    I’m subscribing to your blog and banking on the the Red Sox keeping Reyes all year, or continuing to suck. This stuff’s hilarious.

  2. April 7, 2011 at 10:12 am

    maybe we’ll give you guys reyes. you know? as a prize. for winning. congratulations on the series, cleveland! here’s a trainwreck. he comes with his own weapon. they’ll call him crazy pitch and he’ll fight crime.
    hmmm. maybe we could rent him out to warehouses. and gang units. and stuff. he could wear a mask and a cape and throw rocks at criminals.
    you know what? suddenly he sounds much cooler and i’d like to keep him.
    for crimefighting. not for game pitching.
    i must think of a theme song right away!

  3. Daniel
    April 7, 2011 at 11:48 am

    Your blog is really entertaining! I’m watching the Red Sox game today, at least until the Braves game starts. I’m rooting for Lester as he is in my fantasy team. Hang in there….I’m sure you wont go 0 – 162 🙂

    • April 7, 2011 at 5:57 pm

      your optimism is encouraging, daniel!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

