Home > Previews and pep talks > Opening Day ANTHEMS! What’s YOURS?

Opening Day ANTHEMS! What’s YOURS?

Good morning, Soxies. And what a morning it is! Slough off those losses in the shower because today is the REAL opening day… as we return to Fenway for the 100th- (um, technically it’s the 101, but don’t get me STARTED)- and Josh Beckett remembers how to play baseball… and Kevin Youkilis returns to us in hit-tastic fashion… And 1,000 runs each for Pedroia and Jacoby (um, long game?)… and my new boyfriend Ryan Sweeney will continue to be a delight… oh! And David Ortiz will slug them out of the park and Jason Varitek will-

Oh. Right.

But NOTHING can keep us down today. NOTHING.

Except work. Because, as you are all reveling in Beckettesque glory… I will be here. At work…

But it’s okay, see, because I have a plan. I’m going to catch bits and pieces- and when I’m not watching, I’ll be listening. To Red Sox anthems.

There are the obvious ones. Like:

And, you know-

And, of COURSE I’ll be singing this in my cube (my coworkers are sooooo lucky):

But there are not so obvious ones too.

Songs that just get you in that happy, poptastic mood I like to call SOXY. Like-

And-

That’s YOU, Josh Beckett.

So help me out- let’s create a playlist of badass awesome…

Shoot your victory/peppy anthems to the comments.

NO Avril Lavigne-esque pity songs, please. We’ll let Tampa take care of that later.

:)

Because we don’t need pity.

We’re going the distance…

~L

And, if you want to laugh ’till you burst, just imagine your favorite Cleveland fan in a Damon jersey. Ohahahaha. That is never going to get old…

Youk’s coming back today, you guys!!!!

  1. April 13, 2012 at 9:02 am

    A “Dinger” by Youk-will prove we have the original here with us

  2. April 13, 2012 at 9:07 am

    I’ve always been in love with the “Broom Girl” in the “Tessie” video -just sayin’

  3. April 13, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    I do like Tessie, but for the Orioles its Thank God I’m a Country Boy, and I’m not sure what the Nats is, and I was at the Home Opener yesterday. Gotta love my teams.

  4. FireDannyAinge
    April 13, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    I was at thatgame Neil diamond sang sweet caroline from a far. Go Sox

  5. April 14, 2012 at 9:51 am

    “So good! So good! So good!” I will never forget the spine-tingling feeling of singing “Sweet Caroline” at Fenway Park the first time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

