Home > Sox Game Recaps > Red Sox Fans: It gets better. It does. It REALLY does.

Red Sox Fans: It gets better. It does. It REALLY does.

It’s going to be okay. I know it looks bad. I know it smells like Nicholas Cage now. But I am here to tell you- those of you too young to remember 2003… that it DOES get better.

And what’s the alternative? Really?

It’s like that dream Romeo keeps having in Romeo and Juliet… Where Romeo knows “untimely death”  is ahead- and yet-

“But he that hath the steerage of my course, direct my sail…”

He embraces it. It could be that Shakespeare degree I have (the one that just keeps making me bank, you know), but it’s exactly the same thing. You know the crap is about to rain from the cruel, cruel heavens… It’s going to smack into your soul like smushy hail… and yet you STILL leave your umbrella at home. Because, damn it if you couldn’t use the fertilizer…

Um…

You can complain. You can curse. You can shake your fist at the television. And you can throw things at that tissue effigy of Jacoby Ellbury you made under the table during your date last night… but you can’t quit.

You know it. They know it.

Such is the way of RedSoxism.

Boy does it blow.

Better bend over. It’s easier that way.

You know what helps me? This song. It was playing on my way home from work today. So, I rolled my windows down and blasted it through bad neighborhoods in Durham. In the Chevy Aveo. Because I am THAT cool.

Do it with me. Let’s do it together. Turn the volume up on your computer, stand in front of your mirror and let the tears flow…

Because… no matter how HORRIBLY you hit…

We’re going to … KEEP ON LOVING YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU.

Am I singing by myself? Again?!

I DON’T WANT TO SLEEP… I JUST WANT TO KEEP ON LOVING YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUU.

Is it helping yet?

Um.

Stupid Canada.

You are NOT alone!!!!!

And seriously. It’s been LESS than a week. It will be OKAY.

It’s Jason Varitek’s birthday today. I miss him so.

~L

 The REAL “It Gets Better Project” is really neat and worthy of your attention- it’s a valuable resource if you know anyone in trouble. Click HERE.

Categories: Sox Game Recaps
  1. April 11, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    “It gets better…” You mean like in 2011? Yikes. Am I the only now worrying that this team is just not good? Sigh.

    • April 11, 2012 at 10:18 pm

      Hah. Somehow I don’t think you’re the only one. :)

  2. mhasegawa
    April 12, 2012 at 5:43 am

    Hey, last year they were 0-6.

  3. April 12, 2012 at 7:44 am

    I used to say “It will get better” back in the 50’s and look ,in no time at all, (2004) it did.Even had a couple of” get better” teasers in 1967-1975-(You would have loved Bernado Carbo),and.of course 1986 .To start to “Get Better”we will need to call up Ryan Larvarnway,right ?

  4. April 12, 2012 at 7:52 am

    Back in the 50’s I used to say “It will get better” and ,look,in no time at all (2004),it did.Of course there were teasers-1967-(how about that YAZ-)1975-(You would have loved Bernado Carbo) and 1986 (Even under John Macmanara).Talent is here,but we will never know what demons are lurking.The ones that keep you from being successful.Of course Ryan Larvarnway would help don’t you think ?

  5. April 12, 2012 at 7:54 am

    Diregard the first post-go with the second-K

  6. Jup
    April 12, 2012 at 7:57 am

    Remember kids, ‘better’ doesn’t mean ‘good.’ The Sox could be better than your local beer league. Then again, they may not, but really, does it matter? They know they have us trapped. Where are we going to go for baseball? Tampa Bay? New York? No, we’re going to stick with them whether or not it cuts years off our lives. We might as well try to enjoy it!

  7. April 12, 2012 at 8:42 am

    When I said that I love you, I meant that I love you foreverrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

  8. April 12, 2012 at 10:20 am

    It does get better. Eventually, all the losing begins to take on a numbing effect. Kills all of your aches and pains, baseball-related or not. It DOES get better.

  9. April 12, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    I think I may have left Jacoby in the Safe a little longer than I should have. He seems dazed out here in broad daylight. It’s early yet. He’ll get it together. They all will. Right??????

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

