Home > Guest Bloggers > Guest Blogger: A 2004 bandwagoner becomes a real fan

Guest Blogger: A 2004 bandwagoner becomes a real fan

Hi, kids! Slammed at the new job and still need a bit to regroup… so, in the meantime, TooSoxy reader Sandra volunteered to give you a guest blog to read and supplement your Thursday! Be back soon- I promise! And I have not read Sox news AT ALL (killing me, but intentional), so you guys BETTER give me some good news… Roy Oswalt… don’t tell me… Cardinals? Don’t tell me…

The following is from Sandra Evans! Contact her at sandra@sportsmanagementdegrees.net! And fill the comments with reasons YOU became a Red Sox fan! Just being from Boston isn’t good enough, people. Give me passion! And, if you’re interested in guesting on TooSoxy, shoot me an e-mail at ohnolauren@gmail.com!

~L

——-

Why I Became a Boston Red Sox Fan

I love the Boston Red Sox, and I’m not even from Boston. Heck, I’ve never even been to Boston. There are no Major League Baseball teams in the state where I grew up, so you just had to pick one from somewhere else. I chose the Red Sox.

Yes, it is true that I didn’t “jump on the bandwagon” until 2004, when the team won its first World Series since 1918. I wasn’t born into this fan following, so I even surprised myself when I became so obsessed with the culture.

I suppose my love for the team was really ignited because of the fans. I was lucky enough to attend game four of the 2004 World Series in St. Louis. At that point, I was just a fan of baseball and didn’t necessarily follow one particular team. The Red Sox fans were so much fun and extremely excited about the game. You could really get a sense of the passion they had for their team, so I decided to root for them. Not to mention, if they won the game, they would win the Series.

As we all know, they did win that game, and my friend and I followed up the night by going to a bar to celebrate. This is where I met some amazing Red Sox fans who told me why their team was the greatest baseball team in America. Normally, this wouldn’t faze me, but the way in which these fans told the history of their team really convinced me. This team has such an interesting history and tradition, and I wanted to be a part of that history.

I was told about the “Curse of the Bambino.” Which I already knew about, but didn’t realize how serious some fans were about it (the “curse” was broken that night). The fans reminisced about all the missed title chances, throwing out statistics and facts that were impressive. They spoke of the Yankees rivalry with intensity. I had never met people who were so loyal to their team.

In the end, it wasn’t the facts or statistics or history that made me a fan of the Boston Red Sox. I wanted to be a fan of this team, because I wanted to see them win for their lifelong hometown fans. These people love baseball and Boston, and when the Red Sox win, the whole city wins.

There may be other Major League baseball teams who have just as many (if not more) fans as the Boston Red Sox, but I doubt their fans are as passionate. Who wouldn’t want to support a team with fans like that of Boston? GO SOX!

Sandra Evans owns the website Sports Management Degrees. In her leisure time, she enjoys playing tennis and writing.

Categories: Guest Bloggers
  1. FireDannyAinge
    February 15, 2012 at 11:41 pm | #1

    First I want to tell you how much I hate you.
    How dare you jump on the bandwagon and get to see us win the world series while I sat at home on my broken down chair. Life is just not fair.lol

    I have a theory on bandwagon fans. It goes like this. It’s okay to jump on the bandwagon as long as you stay on it when things go wrong. If in twenty five years you are still dying and living with his team then you are a real fan. You get to take the bandwagon label off.

    I’ll see you in 2037:)

  2. February 16, 2012 at 10:12 am | #2

    Well done, Sandra. I will leave it to true Red Sox fans to decide your “fate” as it were regarding when a bandwagon era ends (FDA…you’re too funny). Growing up a Phillies (hometown) and A’s (who knows why) fan, I had no real prior interest in the Red Sox…that is until I renewed blogging almost a year ago. Seeing the passion of the Boston fans on this site and others reminded me so much of what we have gone through…and now go through with our Phils here. I couldn’t help investing time in what transactions Boston was making, how they were doing, etc. In short order, I found myself wishing for a Red Sox-Phillies World Series. Boston and Philadelphia haven’t exactly been tearing it up in baseball until recent years. Now, both cities find themselves among the “haves” in Major League Baseball and easy targets for those who like to cry about the “big spenders” dominating baseball. I think the two cities share the experience of coming from the depths to the big-time…and now we are two cities fighting to stay among the elite. I agree there are few cities whose fan base and passion can even be mentioned in the same breath…to “friends of Fenway.”

  3. February 16, 2012 at 5:47 pm | #3

    Dodger fans are passionate as well!

    • February 17, 2012 at 1:03 pm | #4

      There’s like six real Dodger fans in the whole world. When the Dodgers are winning, Dodger Stadium swells up with the white wine crowd. When they aren’t Chavez Ravine is reclaimed by 40,000 Tecate drinkers.

  4. cybellekate
    February 18, 2012 at 3:34 pm | #5

    Spring Training is underway and Wake retired and we’re all waiting for Tek and Salty wants him to come and people are annoyed at Beckett but hopeful about Lester and YOU’RE MISSING IT!!! Moving, shmoving. Where are you? >:-(

  5. cybellekate
    February 18, 2012 at 3:46 pm | #6

    I just re-tweeted an article in The Onion about the whole Tom Brady-Kevin Youkilis inter-marriage thing that is happening so you can see it.

  6. cybellekate
    March 5, 2012 at 5:58 pm | #7

    I just said “for the love of frick,” had to stop and figure out where the heck I got that expression from, realized it was from your Blog and came over here to tell you about it and to complain about how long it’s been since you’ve Blogged.
    Yes. I have a life. Why?

  7. cybellekate
    March 5, 2012 at 8:15 pm | #8

    Fisk. I meant love of Fisk. What the frick. See, this never would have happened if you were still Blogging every day.

  8. March 12, 2012 at 9:31 pm | #9

    It is alright, children. I have returned. I am most unhappy. Most unhappy. CK, you were supposed to be watching TEK.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

