Home > Uncategorized > Timmy disses the president. And apparently likes Glenn Beck.

Timmy disses the president. And apparently likes Glenn Beck.

In random news- the midday to your Monday- our own goalgod Tim Thomas did NOT accompany the Bruins to the White House. Because Tim Thomas does NOT want to meet the president.

In further proof that no one is perfect- he clarifies that it’s not a case of the sniffles. Nope. He’s skipping out on the leader of the free world for “political reasons.” Insert eye roll here.

And, in 2012 fashion, Tim plans to release a statement on Facebook (really? REALLY? at 6 p.m.).

Okay. Tim. You know I love you. I do.

But swallow the ego. Seriously. Swallow it.

REALLY, Timmy???? REALLY? What political comment could you posssssibbbllyyyyy be expressing?

Make a comment. Don’t make a comment. I don’t care. But please don’t think this is important enough to schedule a statement. And please don’t do it via FACEBOOK.

I’m giving you a free pass on this one because, well, you gave me the Stanley Cup. But I’m quirking my brow at your picture and mouthing out “Oh REALLY?” right now.

And I promise I won’t care any more at 6 p.m.

Thomas, a known fan of conservative talk show host Glenn Beck, won both the Vezina and Conn Smyth last season, breaking the single-season record for save percentage and leading the Bruins to their first Stanley Cup victory in 39 years.

A  KNOWN fan? I didn’t know that. Did you know that?

Oh, Timmy…

I saw Glenn Beck CRY on stage while reading a Christmas story, Tim.

Seriously. You don’t have to vote for him. But he doesn’t have leprosy (that’s Ryan Braun). You can shake the guy’s hand, Tim. You’re “one of two Americans on the roster.” Your hand won’t fall off. I promise. I have shaken Obama’s hand four times now. And I still have all of my fingers.

At least Tim won’t be suspended.

In I-don’t-really-give-a-frick news, we’re in talks with Cody Ross. I mean. I guess I give a frick. I mean… wikipedia says he’s well-liked.

Ross has become a very popular player in San Francisco, earning the nickname “Ross the Boss” for his timely and sometimes powerful hitting, and above average fielding skills.

But re-read that. “sometimes powerful hitting.” “Above average fielding skills.”

Remember when we used to sign someone and the article said “extraordinary?”

Roy Oswalt has officially turned down the Tigers. So, rumor has it… he could be wearing Red Sox.

Oh. And in news that should surprise no one- Jorge Posada. Retiring. Official. It’s happening tomorrow. I am devastated by this (really). Because I think my Posada verb was just catching on. And now it has no chance. Jorge Posada really Posada-ed me on this. Go Posada yourself, Jorge.

And in roll-your-eyes news. I read that Sox Judas, Johnny Damon “really” wants to play for the Yankees. Okay, America. Roll your eyes.

~L

  1. FireDannyAinge
    January 23, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    What bull shit. Tim Thomas is an American and if he doesn’t like the bleeding heart give all our money away to his criminal aunt and uncle than he doesn’t have too.

    MY GOD. It amazes me how much free speech means to people when they don’t agree with them.

    I think the reason he is releasing a statement is people won’t leave him alone. This is apparetly a big story because it is even on the Boston news with the Patriots going to the superbowl.

    I still love you Timmy and even if I am anto religion I respect your right to follow which ever God you chose.

    Haters.

  2. Paul Danahy
    January 23, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    We should check on Timmy’s Knuckles.they may be bruised from all that dragging.
    Some wear that hatred like a halo .

    Right on target SOXY

  3. January 24, 2012 at 3:41 am

    Not that I’m a huge fan of Obama either, but, hey, c’mon…you’re meeting the President, plus you’re representing your team. Everyone has a right to there opinion, though.
    –Mike
    ‘Minoring In Baseball’

  4. Jup
    January 24, 2012 at 8:38 am

    I fully support Tim’s decision to not meet the president. Not going was obviously something he felt very strongly about, and many brave Americans have fought very hard to preserve his freedom to act on that feeling. If it were his job to keep political harmony, I may have a problem with it… but he’s a hockey player. His responsibilities to us end with ‘stop puck from getting into goal.’

  5. January 24, 2012 at 9:27 am

    I guess it depends where you are and what you are listening or reading to as to how big a story Tim skipping the White House visit is. I can tell you it is on the radar in Philly as we are hockey-friendly and Thomas is a high-profile player.

  1. January 24, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

