Home > Uncategorized > Back to the bargain bin we go!

Back to the bargain bin we go!

Benny C’s digging through the bargain bin again- this time for Vincent Padilla.

Padilla, who hasn’t pitched in MLB since 2010, is well known for something called a SOAP BUBBLE PITCH.

I’m just going to let that one go.

Meantime, back on the ranch, Bobby V is talking vets.

“I couldn’t imagine having Wake come in and compete for a job,” Valentine said, according to the Providence Journal. “I can’t imagine that. Even ’Tek, for that matter. It’s not something I can imagine.”

Why can’t Tek be the new Curt Young? Seriously.

Valentine called Varitek’s long-tenured situation with the club “unique” and said it “should be handled in a unique way.”

By now you’ve probably read the chuckle-worthy comments Bobby V made about recent Stankee acquisitions.

“They’re probably an upgrade from (Bartolo) Colon and (Freddy) Garcia,” Valentine told the Providence Journal at a Jimmy Fund event in Boston. “Probably. I don’t know. It seems it.”

His comments have Yankees fans snarking. Kind of makes me tip my hat to Bobby.

Bobby is also working on BFF status with Carl Crawford.

“He seemed very determined,” Valentine said. “He seemed very understanding of the fact that things got spinning a little fast for him last year in a new environment, and he seemed to be determined to correct that.”

Slow, snowy weekend in the High Country of North Carolina.

Have I mentioned how much I hate snow?

I really hate snow.

~L

  1. January 16, 2012 at 2:26 am

    Okay, Bobby V. gets an A for snark himself. The full commentary on the Yankees aquisitions is pretty darned funny. I’m not quaking in my boots over either one myself. Good pitchers both of them, but the Angels hit both well and “Angels,” “hitting” and “well” didn’t coincide in too many sentences last season.
    – Kristen

  2. January 16, 2012 at 10:06 am

    Hilarious PhotoShop work there, Lauren. I must say I was surprised with the Yankees too, but even more surprised they gave up their best young hitter (Montero) for a pitcher who I’m still not 100% convinced on, as Pineda won exactly one start in the second half. Uno.

  3. Schmitty
  4. January 16, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    January 16th…the total snow in suburban Philly to-date this winter season…a half of one inch. Last two years…75 inches. Can’t explain it. Like Soxplosion in reverse.

    • January 16, 2012 at 1:20 pm

      half an inch????!!!!! Really? philly sounds like such a magical place.

  5. FireDannyAinge
    January 16, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    The Yankees do not have a budget. Spare me Yankees.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

