Home > Daily Injection: Steroid news > Curt Schilling talks too much for HOF. Pedro doesn’t talk ENOUGH. Oh. And some jackass likes Johnny Damon.

Curt Schilling talks too much for HOF. Pedro doesn’t talk ENOUGH. Oh. And some jackass likes Johnny Damon.

Bah. Day fifteen bazillion of crutches. Let’s call today the WORST day. I am at a meeting right now. It is HORRRRRRIBLE.

It’s so horrible that I am sitting here looking at Red Sox news. Okay. So I do that on the occasional not-horrible meeting. Whatev. Can we just be in agreement that my time would be better served blowing on cement to help it dry quicker?

In today’s news, people are already talking 2013 HOF ballot- a ballot that could have juice king Roger Clemens. It could also have Curt Schilling.

In complete opposition to my headline (I’m still mad at Curt for certain September comments), anytime a Soxy makes the HOF I’m excited. So, go Curt. What are your thoughts? Curt a HOF contender? Or should he first master the quiet game?

—-

In other news- better news- much, much, much better news- PEDRO MARTINEZ WAS ON THE RADIO TODAY! The gods themselves rejoiced.

AND- he talked about… VERLANDER’S MVP. I LOVE you, Pedro.

“I was kind of pissed off at first [when Verlander won the MVP], but then I went to realize that they are the [voters] are going to have to live with that label on their back. If anyone calls them prejudice or racist for not voting for me, everyone will have to understand that it’s their responsibility for not voting for me at that time,” said Martinez. “I feel kind of bad, but at the same time, I was really happy that the pitchers who really deserved it like Justin finally got the monkey off their backs, that a pitcher can have such an impact on his team that he probably deserves the MVP sometimes. It has to be an exception, like the year I had in ’99, the year that [Dennis] Eckersley and those guys that won it, Roger [Clemens], had the impact that they had on the team. Justin Verlander was one who really had an impact on the success of the team. I really believe that the most important person they had on their whole team was Justin Verlander. That’s what makes you an MVP.”

Pedro. You are so classy. Would you like Ben Cherington’s job?

Or… um… you know… a spot on a rotation… say…. OURS?

I was never approached by the Red Sox. I actually thought about maybe going back and trying to do something. I knew that they needed someone. But I have a hard time leaving the lifestyle that I’ve chosen now. Leaving the family wasn’t going to be easy. Even if it was the Red Sox, I was going to have a hard time leaving my family.

But… but… but… WE are your family, Pedro! WE ARE.

My favorite comment Pedro made came from a discussion on steroids-

…when I was in Triple-A, I was told that I was too small, that I was too fragile to pitch in the big leagues in the Dodgers organization. Back then, I felt tempted. One of my teammates said, ‘I have a doctor, if you want to go and get a shot and get whatever and get big…’ He never gave me details. I asked him what would happen. How would that work? He specifically said that there are certain areas of a man that will get damaged. As soon as he said that, I said, ‘No. There’s no way that I will go for that.’

I love you, Pedro. Like, love you-love you. Like, on the Yes, No or Maybe boxes- you’d be a YES. Every. Single. Time.

—-

In less lovable news, some jackass named Sid thinks we should re-sign Johnny Damon. I’d rather eat this table.

Some jackass named Nick thinks it’s a great idea:

It would be awesome to have Johnny Damon on this team. Precisely the personality they need in the clubhouse to lead as he did in 2004. But I’m afraid he has no arm and he’s a lefthanded hitter.

I bolded the parts that made me snort. Audibly. In this meeting.

Feel free to be as sarcastic as possible in the comments.

~L

  1. FireDannyAinge
    January 10, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    If the red sox ever bring that moronic nitwit back to town I will stop rooting for them. I will quit rooting for them quicker than anyone can say the name Danny Ainge.

    I have quit rooting for a team I have loved since birth before due to this type of negligence and I won’t hesitate doing it again if I have too.

    Someone needs to smack Nick Cafardo. Literally.

    And you REALLY need to stop putting up Yankee pictures on this blog.lol It makes my tummy hurt. At least use paint to write sucks under the Yankee emblem like I do. That is fun. It makes me smile doing that:)

    Curt was a great post season pitcher but his mouth will keep him out. No one likes a douche bag.

  2. January 11, 2012 at 3:52 am

    Classy move for Pedro to give props to Verlander like that. Lots of respect. Schilling probably has a better chance at the HOF than Clemens, at this point. But Rogers has no one to blame but him self. Damon back to the BoSox….I could almost see that happening, but it’d be a long shot.
    –Mike
    ‘Minoring In Baseball’

  3. JW
    January 11, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Re-sign Johnny Damon? This is why you shouldn’t sniff glue before you write. Sid…

  4. January 11, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Pedro is a first ballot LOCK. One of the best EVER. And he was the only one NOT juicin’ (so it seems). Curt would do well to sew his mouth shut — so he’ll stop talking and so he’ll stop eating. DUDE LOOKS LIKE WHITE TONY GWYNN! If Morris doesn’t get in, neither does Schilling, but if Morris does, then Schilling has a good case, in my opinion. Hope you get well soon!
    –Jeff

  5. January 15, 2012 at 7:34 am

    I don’t know why…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

