Home > Daily Injection: Steroid news > Manny Ramirez might be a bird. Which makes sense. Because he likes to squack.

Manny Ramirez might be a bird. Which makes sense. Because he likes to squack.

Manny Ramirez, aka: the She-Juicer, found a few suckers to watch him play baseball- the Blue Jays and the Orioles.

Buck Showalter, I expected this from you… But Danny Duquette?

AND JOHN FARRELL????

Really?

Canada, I thought you were a better country than that.

Duquette! I thought you had better taste.

AND JOHN FARRELL?????? I called you brilliant, like, a month ago, in a blog post. I did. Remember how I wanted YOU and not Bobby V?

Well, now that I have this keen perspective on life (thanks, JOHN), I like Bobby V even more…

I’d like to know how my bird friends feel about this.

“Manny’s an interesting guy,” Duquette said. “He’s interesting to the fans. And he can hit. Or he could hit. I don’t know if he still can.”

As the Red Sox’s general manager, Duquette signed Ramirez in 2000 and has always liked Ramirez as a hitter.

“He wants another opportunity,” Duquette said. “He’s trying hard to get one.”

Why don’t you just fill the syringe for him, Danny?

INTERESTING? So is Roger Clemmons.

The part of this article I find INTERESTING? The fact that Manny is turning 40. Did you know that?

Duquette wouldn’t confirm anything to MASN-

“People have been trying to link us to Ramirez because I signed him in Boston, ” Duquette said, “and they’ve been doing that ever since he said that he wanted to play ball again.”

Well, better you guys than us.

He may snake his way into a bird stadiumbut at least he’ll stay out of Cooperstown.

Despite the talent he flashed as a youngster, the two failed drug tests — in 2009 with the Dodgers and 2011 with the Rays — have stained his legacy forever.

And the drug tests are just part of my anti-Mannyness.

After savoring success, he succumbed to laziness. He became a lackluster defender in the outfield. He couldn’t keep track of his “injured” knees and milked the attention. He strolled down to first base as opposed to hustling on ground balls.

Imagine if Ramirez had the work ethic to complement his talent. He could have been destined to reign atop the all-time home run list and would have shattered many more records than he currently holds.

—-

As far as our boys in Boston? Apparently, we’re looking at outfielders.

And Bobby Valentine is keeping busy.

—–

As for me…

Day three of crippledom.

Today my mother came to visit. She took me shopping.

We got a wheelchair at the mall and she wheeled me around for an hour.

It. Was. Weird.

But I got ice cream. So there’s that.

~L

  1. January 7, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    Manny will sell tickets to a starved fanbase. He’s determined (because determination leads to stats and stats lead to bonus $$$) which means he could be fairly dangerous in a mediocre line-up. Both Toronto and Baltimore have young teams in need of a veteran bat to shield their big bats… Bautista in Canada and whoever they don’t trade in city where the Ravens play. If the Jays sign Manny, the O’s could re-sign Vlad Guerrero or vice-versa.

    Manny still has to serve his suspension once signed, but even half a season of Manny hitting a possible .270+ with 15 to 20 HR’s and 60+ RBI’s with a fairly fat OPS would be a welcome site on any team who hasn’t reached the playoffs since Pierce Brosnan was James Bond.

    Either way, they’re playing for, at best, 3rd place in the AL East.

  2. Paul Danahy
    January 7, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    Some fools just NEVER go away.

  3. January 8, 2012 at 1:21 am

    What a cheater, Manny, that is. Fails two drug tests, yet teams are STILL interested in him? That makes no sense whatsoever to me. I want Manny to go away, he’s turning into Brett Favre.

  4. FireDannyAinge
    January 8, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    I just had ice cream. It was good. My mean father got it for me. He even called and asked if I wanted something. I now will walk down the hallway and he will be an asshole to me or trip me or something. Then we will be back to enemies. Oh and I am not kidding about the name calling but I don’t think he will trip me.

    Manny in Baltimore…. hmmmmmmm I always felt last year happened for a reason. Now the payback could involve Manny.

  5. January 12, 2012 at 11:52 am

    Manny landing anywhere would be beautiful to watch…until game 20 when he retires again just before the announcement he was caught with a local syringe exchange program flyer in his back pocket during a game.

  6. January 13, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Don’t worry, I will personally make sure the Jays don’t sign him.

    http://bluejaysnest.mlblogs.com/

  7. January 29, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    Hooray for ice cream!!!

  1. January 12, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

