Home > Uncategorized > Don Mattingly, I like you better as a ballerina.

Don Mattingly, I like you better as a ballerina.

And I’m not being facetious at all. Don Mattingly, I like you better as a ballerina. Mattingly just finished an acclaimed performance as “Mother Ginger” in “The Nutcracker.” Which, as I imply in my headline… IS AWESOME. And this happened like, a week ago… and I’m just hearing about this TODAY???? This is what happens when my personal life distracts me from the important things in life, Soxies.

Don Mattingly, you made me smile today.

In fact (take note, Stanks of past, present and future), when you don ballet shoes, you get a free pass on this blog. Hear that, former Yankee Don Mattingly? You get a free pass. The last time I gave a Yankee a free pass was… um… Aceves?

And, my submission for best quote of December comes from the artistic director, Mark Bush.

“I walked away headed to a corn dog stand and thought, ‘Don Mattingly is my Mother Ginger,’” said Bush.

Oh. It’s awesome.

“Kind of cool getting out on that limb a little bit,” Mattingly said after the performance. “Getting out of your comfort zone, doing something you aren’t usually involved with. It’s been interesting for me.”

I think ALL baseball players should dress up as ballerinas. You heard me.

I LOVE ballet. And I LOVE sports. Why can they NOT coexist? Genius, Don Mattingly.

For your next trick, I’d like to see Baseball On Ice. Oh! Oh! Oh! Or Baseball: The Musical. PLEASE CAN YOU PRODUCE BASEBALL: THE MUSICAL?????

Thanks.

Did you guys know about this? ohnolauren@gmail.com. Do not EVER let me miss a good ballet story, guys!

~L

  1. December 29, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    I failed. I did see this on the news the day it happened. I dismissed it because it involved…you know…one of THEM.

  2. December 29, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    We see what you did there “…when you “DON” ballet shoes, you get a free pass on this blog…”

    Nice!

  3. December 29, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Baseball: the Musical? Hell yeah! I would pay money to see that. Damn Yankees is fun and all, but this would be better. And as for Baseball: the Ballet, some of the current outfielders – Ichiro comes to mind, though occasionally our Bourjos as well- already have some ballet-like spins down…and jazz hands so maybe Baseball: the Musical needs some Bob Fossse inspired sequences.
    – Kristen

  4. FireDannyAinge
    December 29, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    YANKEES SUCK, Old, new, current and future Yankees must all GO AWAY

  5. December 30, 2011 at 1:50 am

    Well…
    …If Patrick Swayze and Wesley Snipes can “Get-Away-With-It”…
    …Why Not “Danged-Do-Donny”???
    hehehehe
    I Prefer Him WITH His Bro’stache anyway. ;-$) (<–BRO'STACHE DUDE!–)

    -BRADLEY

  6. December 30, 2011 at 7:56 am

    Don Mattingly was a great hitter and now he has to take on a second job to pay the bills?

  7. December 30, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    I’m not at all sure what to say about this. Except that I’m definitely on board with “Baseball: The Musical.” As long as Dropkick Murphys sing “Tessie” in it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

