Home > Uncategorized > Oki’s in pinstripes. Oh. And we still don’t have a new pitcher.

Oki’s in pinstripes. Oh. And we still don’t have a new pitcher.

I’m sorry, FDA. I wanted you to hear this from me…. but… another player has gone to RIP (Rot In Pinstripes).

Hideki Okajima spent nearly all of last season in the minors despite being paid $1.75 million by the Red Sox and now the veteran reliever will try to make it back to the majors with the Yankees.

Honestly, I’m not too broken up about this. He’s always had a snarky look about him.

Can’t really blame him for going evil. I mean, we were the ones who shoved him to the minors. Of course, we’re also the ones who paid him $8.5 million to play a game. So there’s that.

No, really, Oki has never been my favorite. I liked him as half of the dynamic duo. The Robin to Dice-K’s Batman. But you know what? Dice-K isn’t batman anymore (at least not yet. My fingers are still crossed. Of course, they’re the same fingers that typed “Tek is SO WEARING BOSTON in 2012″).

I’m not smiling at this move- but a lot of it has to do with the fact that it’s yet ANOTHER reminder of how stagnant we’ve been this offseason *ahem, Ben Cherington! ahem*

Rest in Peace, Okajima. Because now, in those pinstripes… well…

~L

Feel free to grieve in the comments.

Need something else to roll your eyes at on this cheery Wednesday? Here. Read this.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Paul Danahy
    December 28, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    And,as usually happens to our hometown boys,Okie will record the final out in a one game playoff !!!

  2. FireDannyAinge
    December 28, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    :(

  3. December 29, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    I’m mourning the death of this one, too. I liked the way he looked at the ground when he pitched. That was very off-putting. I join you in the “He’s Dead To Me” camp. He’s not as dead to me as that other guy is, though…what was his name? Demon? Daemon? Whatever.

  1. December 28, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

