Home > Uncategorized > Daniel Bard? Starter?

Daniel Bard? Starter?

“I told him to prepare to be a starter,” Bobby Valentine said.

The official Too Soxy opinion?

MISTAKE.

Discuss.

~L

  1. December 11, 2011 at 6:19 pm | #1

    I don’t like Mr. Bard as a potential starter, but I sure wouldn’t want him handling important innings in relief where there’s no margin for error.

  2. December 11, 2011 at 7:28 pm | #2

    Assuming he can actually start, I’m all for it. A quality starter is a rare find. A bullpen guy is not. Go for it!

  3. FireDannyAinge
    December 11, 2011 at 7:34 pm | #3

    I think he deserves the chance to be a starter. It kills our bullpen but oh well. At this rate we aren’t winning anything anyway.

    Bye the way yesterday I only bought one set of tickets. They are good seats but I am saving my money for nice weather. No more April games for me.

  4. December 12, 2011 at 6:26 am | #4

    http://conor-soxrox.blogspot.com
    There’s my blog, I have a post about it. I don’t think the Sox should make him a starter, look at his stats as a starter from 2007. He was terrible.

  5. Jup
    December 12, 2011 at 8:24 am | #5

    You move Bard to the rotation and now you’ve lost your two best back-end bullpen guys. I don’t care how good he is as a starter, if you’ve got no one to hand the ball to once he’s done, you’re in trouble.

    Not sure I’m happy with this.

  6. cybellekate
    December 14, 2011 at 2:14 pm | #6

    Bard+Starting=Terror

  7. evanvogel
    December 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm | #7

    The last time he started he had more walks than IP. I can’t see him being successful. This isn’t a C.J. Wilson/Adam Wainwright type of transition, it’s a guy who wasn’t good enough to start, put in the pen, then…moved to SP. Disaster. Pay the luxury tax, sign Edwin Jackson to a multi-year deal, sign Rich Harden to an incentive laden deal and roll with Beckett, Lester, Buchholz, Jackson and Harden as your 5. If you didn’t want to ever go over the luxury tax, maybe ownership shouldn’t have let Theo sign Lackey to a contract that was bad before Lackey was (shoulder issues like whoa in Anaheim, so it’s only natural he hurt his elbow).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

