Home > Drunken Live Blogging, Uncategorized > Bobby V. sure does smile a lot: Live (belated) coverage of the presser

Bobby V. sure does smile a lot: Live (belated) coverage of the presser

It’s official. Bobby V is here to stay. For at least two years… And MLB aired the presser live on-line. And you know I can’t resist live ANYTHING. And I don’t really know this guy. Sure. I know the mustache. The obnoxious commentary. The thing he said about Beckett that one time. And his passion for sandwich invention- but I don’t really know the real YOU, Bobby V. Here’s to hoping I will in the next twenty minutes-

So, I just got off work. So I miss… oh… most everything. Tune in on the live presser at 5:45.

How do you think you have evolved, they’re asking Bobby V…

“Again, I wish I could say I had this check list of improvements that I made or things that I’ll never do again (LIKE HIDE OUT IN A GROUCHO MARX DISGUISE?), but I’ve never written them down.”

Now he’s talking about lost in translation, speaking to players in Japan, and how it’s prepared him to be… um… repetitive?.

“I have to inspect to see that they really got what I meant.”

Okay.

“Make sure the message is received.”

Okay.

Describe your sabermetrics philosophy and collaboration…

“I think it’s the most exciting growth period that I’ll ever be in to be able to experience new information in advanced metrics…”

This sounds like that that thing non-computer people say when interviewing for computer jobs alongside the whippersnappers.

The jersey suits him. Doesn’t the jersey suit him? You look good in red, Bobby V. Gosh, I want to like you. You’re just so cheery. Do you need a granddaughter? I’d be a great granddaughter. I can knit.

“One of the exciting parts of this situation is I know information is available to me and that information has to get in and be digested with the other information I get from my ears and my eyes with my experience and hopefully It’s going to regurgitate results.”

That sounds gross.

Talking about reputations.

Word used to describe you polarizing- what do you think, Bobby V? WEII asks great questions.

“Polarizing is a tough one for, I mean I’ve had a lot of adjectives about me so I can’t describe them all (HAH) and I can’t defend them all but it’s about reputation versus character and I think people who know me and take the time to know me understand that I have some qualities in my character that are okay. I’m not the genius that people refer to me as… I’m not the monster that breathes fire the some people refer to me as … but I’m a guy I’m a regular human being with regular attributes that make me who I am… and I think some of them are… okay.”

Do you think you’re going to have to manager your personality differently? Good question, WEII

“The players in Boston…”

He used quote fingers..

“The front office”

He used quote fingers.

I kind of like this guy.

“If I have to manage up differently or manage down differently… I’m going to work my butt off to do it… I don’t think there’s one thing I’m going to do the same or differently… this is a challenge in getting to know Dustin Pedroia…”

he mentions Carl Crawford. Adrian Gonzalez.

He doesn’t mention David Ortiz, I see.

“They’re not part of MY team (I like the man’s quote fingers. Yes I do), I’m going to be part of Ben’s group… or Dustin’s group… to work with them or for them and that’s a challenge and this isn’t easy stuff…”

I LIKE this guy.

“All due respect to New York, but I can’t imagine there’s a tougher place to be good at what I’m trying to do.”

Um.

Now he’s complimenting Tito. YES.

Oh, Heidi Watney has a question. Are you supposed to be in LA, abandoner?

What is your first order of business?

“After this press conference?”

Um yeah.

“To make a schedule… of how to talk to and meet with players on this team.”

I do. I actually like Bobby V. Who knew? He’s good at this. This whole press thing.

ESPN asks how difficult was it to leave ESPN… hah.

And what, at 61, motivates you?

Okay.

“Real tough to leave ESPN and that might sound sarcastic but I think that if you were going ot poll the other 29 major league managers and ask if they’d rather me managing… I’ll guarantee you more than half of them would pick the ESPN job…”

Was that for Tito’s benefit?

“What motivates me? The desire to be excellent.”

I’m glad it’s not the mustache. Doesn’t he need a hat? Maybe it’s the hair. Is that why they didn’t give him a hat? He needs a hat, Ben.

“I just want to do something good.”

You could serve soup at a soup kitchen. But this is good, too.

More ESPN.

This one’s for Ben Cherington.

Why wasn’t he on the original candidate list? GOOD QUESTION

“Because of the position he was in at ESPN… I guess knowing a little bit about my own style that it was probably going to take even longer than I was hoping it would… (There’s a lot of rambling here) including him in that way at that point might be difficult… and then I got to know him better… and that’s when I started doing more work on it… we felt it made sense once we decided he was going to be include din the process it made sense to include him in a public formal kind of way…”

?????

Seriously, Benny? Bring notecards.

“There’s more than one personality that will work, whether it’s Boston or anywhere… I think you have to love the game, Bobby clearly does that. You have to have a passion for the game, a passion for excellence….”

Oh, Ben.

“There was no specific personality we set out to look for.”

This reminds me of that episode of ‘The Office’ where they have Steve Carrell talking about possible bankruptcy…

Oh, John and Larry for a photo opportunity.

So. That means it’s over.

My initial, random, unedited and bleary thoughts: I am actually shocked at how much I like this guy. Especially since I have written at least three blog posts about how he reminds me of a circus clown. But he’s affable. He’s charming. Who the hell knows if he can manage? But he’s officially ours now. So, I say, let’s give him a Beantown makeover- facial hair with a side of snark- and watch the guy get to work.

Do you think it’s because of my broadcast background? Maybe I’m biased. But I actually… like this guy.

Let’s let him work.

And then if he screws up… well…

It’s back to the clown jokes.

I MISS TITO.

~L

8:30 p.m.- Was only a matter of time before a reporter got to Papi…

David Ortiz reserved judgment when asked tonight what effect Bobby Valentine would have on the Red Sox.

“I don’t know,” the free agent designated hitter said. “We’ll see. . . . Hopefully I’ll get to find out.”

You know whose opinion we don’t give a frick about? Neither does the Globe, apparently:

“It’s going to be interesting, that’s for sure,” Johnny Damon said.

STOP TRYING TO BE RELEVANT!

PPS- This is what I want for Christmas. Can someone get on that? Thanks.

PPPS- Bill Buckner? Back in Boston? Oh, hilarious. Just got this memo at 9:35 p.m.

  1. FireDannyAinge
    December 1, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    I liked him too. I think he is exactly what we needed.

    • December 1, 2011 at 8:37 pm

      Poor Papi is reserving judgment. Probably until he knows for sure Valentine will guess his correct name…

  2. December 1, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    Bobby V is like the “5″ at the bar come closing time. You know she’ll get the job done.

    • December 1, 2011 at 9:05 pm

      Please. Bobby V’s wayyyy too classy for leopard print.

  3. December 1, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    It’ll be interesting to see how Bobby does under the pressure of Boston. It’s still early, but so far he’s saying the right things. He’s certainly an interesting character, but no one has ever questioned his baseball smarts.

    http://bluejaysnest.mlblogs.com/

  4. December 1, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    I don’t know how to feel about this. I think Valentine’s a good manager, but I can’t see him managing the red Sox. Maybe this has something to do with it…

    this is going to work out really well, or terribly with no in between

  5. December 2, 2011 at 4:46 am

    He was very repetitive at times (Yes, it was a Red Sox P.C. but, hello? Baseball starved fan over here.) but I got the impression that was his strategy for dealing with very repititive questions because man was he Mr. Articulate and Saying All the Right Things when asked about the Sox finish last season. I think you all have yourselves a manager who seems to understand your team, is excited to be there and dying to take this baby out for a test drive…and who is willing to make peace with Crawford and Beckett by cracking jokes about past comments. Pretty good situation really.
    – Kristen

  6. December 2, 2011 at 9:37 am

    I have a feeling you’re gonna love Bobby. I do. Always have. Been wanting him to come back for a long time. He’s a good mix of old and new school… like a sexy Tony LaRussa (if that’s possible). Oh… and he’s not Grady Little or John Mcnamara (yet), so he’ll always have that going for him.

  7. December 2, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Is it April yet?!?!

  1. February 10, 2012 at 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

