Home > Football. I write about football. What??? > N.C. State. You make wolf fingers. No, YOU make wolf fingers. I already have wolf fingers. KEEP. UP.

N.C. State. You make wolf fingers. No, YOU make wolf fingers. I already have wolf fingers. KEEP. UP.

So. I have to work all day. ALLLLLLL day.

But I’m doing this new thing where I’m being… um… what’s the word?

Oh, thanks, internet.

SUPPORTIVE.

That is the boy’s back. I thought it would be creepy if I put an actual real picture of him on the internet. Even though I don’t actually believe he reads this, there’s always a chance.

He is an N.C. State fan.

And today, N.C. State plays Chapel Hill. In FOOTBALL.

Why is this significant you ask?

I’m sooooooooo glad you are mentally asking this question.

See, I looked it up so that I can participate in a phone conversation later. I even made bullet talking points. He is going to be so impressed by me (thanks, GOOGLE).

So. N.C. State is like the Red Sox. Noble. Valiant. And. Um. Red. Oh, and they do this thing called wolf fingers. We don’t do that. But they do. Here. Let me demonstrate.

See? It’s supposed to look like a wolf. You put your middle and ring fingers together and press them against your thumb like the wolf is speaking. Yes. See, I’ve only been to a basketball game, but they do this at football games too. Oh! And they get TWO mascots. A male wolf and a female wolf. And they are married and stuff. I think it is romantic. Um. As romantic as people dressed in sweaty furry costumes can possibly be.

(By the way, do my hands look freakishly small to you? Because that’s what the Red Cross CPR trainer said when she had to get me special gloves yesterday.)

UNC-Chapel Hill (Tarheels? What the frick is a Tarheel? Are you sure that’s right, Internet?) are like the Yankees. Prissy. (Really? THAT is what a Tarheel is? Seriously? Where does the ram come in?) And apparently, they have slutty girls. I read it on this t-shirt. Anyway, they are the Yankees. We HATE them.

And today, the Red Sox and the Yankees are playing in Raleigh. But not really. Because it’s State and UNC. (They shorten it to state and UNC, even though they are BOTH in the university of North Carolina system. Like Appalachian State University. The school I went to. That has a better football record. But, apparently doesn’t count, because they are in the wrong divisiony thing. They also call UNC Carolina. Which is really confusing. Because aren’t we all in Carolina? What do they call South Carolina? Because I’m sure there is one.)

So, while I am not in Raleigh today, and you are not in Raleigh today, let us root for N.C. State. Because when N.C. State wins, my favorite guy is happy. And, apparently that makes me happy or something? Oh. And if you have any phone tips for how to talk to your person about his football team, please insert those in the comments. Wolf fingers! Oh- and tips on how to get him to call you back on a football weekend…

Oh. And if you actually know the boy…. like… um… really… let’s just keep this little internet search to ourselves, shall we?

~L

  1. November 5, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Nice wolf fingers!

    Go State!

  2. November 5, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Way to be supportive! I have never really gotten into football even though I have tried. But I impressed my husband early on by correctly identifing line of scrimmage and first, second and so forth downs by their proper names and am convinced that being “supportive” in this fashion paved the way for his eventual conversion, by me, to The Baseball Side so, hey, a little football knowledge can be a good thing.
    — Kristen

  3. November 5, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    A little support certainly goes a long way.

  4. November 6, 2011 at 10:34 am

    For what it is worth, if the favorite guy favors the N.C. State HOOPS team, they have done very well on the recruiting trail under new Head Coach Mark Gottfried. While their season this year will likely be rough, better times are ahead for basketball at NCSU. Carolina is sometimes referred to as UNC-Chapel Hill when basketball is the subject because there are other schools who participate in Division I that are a part of the “UNC system”…ex. UNC-Greensboro, UNC-Asheville, etc. As for your South Carolina comment, that can really get confusing because they like to call themselves USC…

  5. November 6, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Look at that…it worked!

  6. November 7, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Ahhh he must be really special if you put all that time and effort into it, give yourself a big pat on the back. Since moving down here I’ve discovered that being affilliated with a specific college is almost as important as picking a church seems to be. I’m happy to report I’m still a free agent on both accounts, waiting to sell out to the highest bidder.

    I was thinking those wolf fingers were a rip-off of the ‘hang loose’ sign I learned in Hawaii, but after looking it up it’s apparent that I learned it wrong. oops. Thanks to your post I won’t look like a dork when (if) I get back to paradise. Maybe you can fix all the other reasons I would looke like a dork too? lol

    • November 7, 2011 at 8:48 am

      he’s okay. if i can ever get panthers tix, you can meet him! it’s just not working out, shawn! ticketmaster bested me again. i’ll keep trying.

      • November 11, 2011 at 7:29 am

        Thanks for trying with the tix for the game. It save me from having to go out and buying some Titans gear, couldn’t have anyone thinking I’m a Panthers fan!

  1. November 11, 2011 at 5:17 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

