Home > Uncategorized > Papi is … SURPRISED the Sox haven’t shoveled money at him yet. There are smellier things to shovel, Papi.

Papi is … SURPRISED the Sox haven’t shoveled money at him yet. There are smellier things to shovel, Papi.

Papi, I love you. I named my first-born puppy after you. Elliot-Mae-Precious-Ortiz wouldn’t be the same sheltie without you as a strong father figure.

You’re an amazing, record-setting DH. You are the spirit of the Sox, our knight with shining clapping. Our stalwart mascot. Our Gregg-eating, grand-slam smacking savior in the night.

But you are clueless.

I was expecting something would happen before, but so many things are going on. I know everybody has priorities, and to be honest with you, I thought I was one of them. I guess when it comes down to this situation, they would like to see what they’re going to hear out there because I’ve seen that happen before here with some other players. Players who have been here for a long time, they want to know what their value is in the market. Like I said, I’m not familiar with the situation.

Did you?

Did you REEEEALLLLYYYY expect your jackass October comments to equal an immediate check?

Don’t get me wrong- I am 100 percent in support of keeping Ortiz. Anything else would greatly upset me. But REALLY, Ortiz? REALLY? You canNOT be so dense that you think your image is the same as pre-dumbass-comments-Ortiz. The Front Office has SOOOOOO much (self-induced) crap to shovel through that you’re not on their crap-o-meter today. After what you said in October, you can wait your turn. (yes. I finally read it. Damnit)

~L

I have been eerily prolific today. I don’t like it.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 3, 2011 at 5:35 pm | #1

    Somone may mention to him that they needed a GM before they could have their GM offer him a contract.

  2. FireDannyAinge
    November 3, 2011 at 6:18 pm | #2

    If the Red Sox really wanted Ortiz or Papelbon back there would have already been a discussion. I think we can pretty much assume (yes I know what the word means ass-u-me) that the Sox have very little interest in retaining any free agent we have.

    I agree with section 36 (by the way I hate any section that far away from the game) we kind of needed a GM first oh and maybe a manager????

    • November 3, 2011 at 8:42 pm | #3

      but seriously, wouldn’t you be irate if papi was anywhere else?

      • FireDannyAinge
        November 4, 2011 at 12:46 pm | #4

        I am torn. I am really just so mad at him by what he said in that interview about the drama that right now I don’t care if he leaves. I know I’ll get over it eventually and I probably will be sad to see him in a different uniform but right now I am pissed at the lack of loyalty anyone on this team has to this organization.

        You have to understand what I am saying here. I am sure you feel the same way in some aspect.

  3. November 3, 2011 at 7:50 pm | #5

    I don’t think they had a choice with Pap. He’s been saying for years that he was going to be a free agent.

    Far away from the game? The section borders the field?

  4. November 4, 2011 at 10:24 am | #6

    Eh, I don’t read much into the lack of communication from the Sox front office. They don’t even have a manager set yet, so I wouldn’t be clogging up my DH slot quite yet. That said, If the price is right (as it should be with so few teams needing a DH), I’d bring Papi back.

    • FireDannyAinge
      November 4, 2011 at 12:43 pm | #7

      That isn’t how it works. If you are 100% interested in a free agent you are on the phone at 12.01. These are spoiled players here. Respect to them is immediate attention. It’s also money but Ortiz sounded hurt he hasn’t been offered money yet.

      I am sure if the Sox had their mind on a free agent they really wanted they were on the phone at 21.00 the night of free agency.

  5. November 5, 2011 at 10:55 pm | #8

    Posturing… all pure Free Agent posturing.

    Papi needs to reposition himself from the baddie of October (“You know, the Yankees know how to do it right.”) to the abused darling of the Hot Stove season. But the posturing is fairly useless at this point. Cherington has said numerous times that he’d like to sign both Pap’ and Papi to deals that made sense to all involved… who wouldn’t, right? But the Sox still don’t have a manager in place and may have to fend off both the Cubs and Cards to find the right one.

    Most of the Type-A FA’s (which include Pap’ & Ortiz) won’t be signing till the technical details of the CBA are updated and that’s not expected to happen till just before or after Thanksgiving. Plus the market doesn’t present itself until the Winter Meetings where agents and GM’s get to mingle, chat and get their behind the scenes posturing established.

    And don’t forget, Papelbon (who’s been waiting years to hit the market) is the premier closer on the market… his price may dictate what K-Rod, Ryan Madson and Heath Bell could be in-line for, as well as Lidge and Nathan as reclamation projects and vice-versa. Ortiz, believe it or not, may be the premier middle of the order guy as most teams won’t be on the radar for Pujols or Prince. Toronto, Texas and the Angels could be in deep for his services as well (if he could still play the field everyday, I’d say the Miami Marlins would grab him up), so it makes little sense for Ortiz to cry foul since he hasn’t driven the market much higher than it was with his Yankees comments (when you mention a team and your admiration, you need to be sure they want you). Cheaper alternatives are out there for a ‘professional’ DH, a position that has diminished incredibly over the years as teams require players to be able to play a position as well and now use the DH spot as a saftey net for veterans and prospects to get playing time without tiring in the field (such as the case of Jesus Montero and A-Rod in the Bronx). Thome (back to Philly) and Matsui are examples as is Grady Sizemore if a team wants to ease him back in as a DH/platoon OF till he fully recovers from his previous injuries.

    In the case of the Sox, there’s more to it than just signing Big Papi. Youk has shown several times now that his style of play causes him to breakdown over the course of the season. To keep his bat in the line-up, he’ll see a number of starts at.. you guessed it, DH. Ryan Lavarnway is expected to require at least another half-season or so in Pawtucket for seasoning but may be called up in July or so to be eased in for his offensive prowess while watching ‘Salty. So… he’ll be at DH. With A-Gon’s shoulder woes, he’ll probably see a few days less in the field next season (despite his newest Gold Glove), meaning a handful of starts at.. DH.

    This will probably drag out for a bit and I wouldn’t be surprised if we heard a few more posturing speeches in the form of media leaks and tidbit rumors. But hey, it’s Hot Stove and that’s what its for.

    http://cordaro9418.mlblogs.com/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

