Home > Scary Red Sox Rants > Seriously? Tito? SERIOUSLY? Soxies, what’s your take on this?

Seriously? Tito? SERIOUSLY? Soxies, what’s your take on this?

And the Skipper jumps off the ship

The Red Sox and manager Terry Francona have decided to part ways after eight seasons and two World Series titles.

The decision was apparently made last night and may be announced today. There were differences over how things were handled this season.

Or… maybe he was PUSHED.

The decision is coming from the ownership level according to sources. While Epstein was careful to say yesterday that he did not blame Francona, owner John Henry has remained quiet on the subject.

I don’t know what happened. I’m not ready to TALK about what happened. Maybe tomorrow.

I have things to say. Believe me. I have a LOT of things to say. But I’m kind of trying to breathe for a day or so. I’m trying to focus on… something else.

But Tito? Tito gave us two World Series when all the world could give us was a Jimmy Fallon movie and some Yankees puns.

Tito gave us TWO WORLD SERIES. TWO.

And now we’re giving him the axe, the Buckner scapegoat medal and a passive aggressive handshake.

I’m not ready to talk about this. But I’m sure ready to stew over it. I’m ready to stew and stew and stew and hold it all inside like a pressure cooker of bitterness and wit.

When I am ready to talk about this, get ready. It will be like a Papel-bomb. (Except successful. And scary.)

~L

I don’t like admitting this… but I’m with Curt Schilling on this one.
More on this when I have breathed.
Categories: Scary Red Sox Rants
  1. September 30, 2011 at 11:05 am | #1

    If they let Tito go, it would be a bigger error than the entire 2011 season.

  2. JW
    September 30, 2011 at 1:35 pm | #3

    If I’m Francona, I’m saying “Screw this, I’m outta here.”

    All he’s done is win two titles for a team and a fanbase that did nothing but bitch about some “curse” for 80+ years. He’s got nothing left to accomplish in Boston, and when his leadership style is being called into question after his record of success, he can easily say “See ya” and get another job before his footprints out of Boston get cold.

    As for the Joe Torre thing, that would be the Dodgers getting revenge for that whole Grady Little fiasco.

  3. September 30, 2011 at 2:47 pm | #4

    JW is right. Apparently the locker room was horrible this year. The pitchers were drinking in the clubhouse on their days off (Lackey). Nobody got alone. Theo assembled a great team ON PAPER. I pin this on Theo and the players.

    • JW
      September 30, 2011 at 6:15 pm | #5

      Now that Francona is headed out of Boston, I hope he is smart enough not to go to the Cubs. Let Theo go to Chicago so his reputation can be destroyed. In my opinion, I think Francona makes a perfect fit for the Nationals.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

