Home > Previews and pep talks > We are pitied? PITIED?

We are pitied? PITIED?

I don’t know what to say, Soxies. I do not know what to say.

YANKEES FANS PITY US.

I don’t know. I had kind of a roller-coaster, Jerry Springerish night. Throw in a Beckett implosion, and I don’t think I’m fit to be around people. Sigh. Could someone else do the pep talk today? Because I’m spent.

~L

  1. Dmitri Old
    September 27, 2011 at 9:20 am | #1

    I’ve given up. As a Brit it is easier to deal with failure because we are used to it. If you don’t follow one of the three big football clubs in the country, you are never going to win the big one. So you just play along. Imagine a world full of Kansas City Royals fans, harping back to 1985, knowing they are never likely to see that again.

    As John Cleese said in Clockwise, with the name slightly changed for this blog’s relevance. “It’s not the despair, Lauren. I can take the despair. It’s the hope I can’t stand.”

    I’ve abandoned hope and I feel a bit better for it, in the short term.

    It’s not a pep talk, it is an admission of surrender. Churchill would disown me.

    • September 27, 2011 at 11:52 am | #2

      Dmitri! That is NOT how we do things in AMERICA.

      • Dmitri Old
        September 27, 2011 at 12:35 pm | #3

        I have noticed.

        I am not some Dan Shaughnessy, revelling in New Englanders’ misery. Rather I am a fatalist, and I feel much more comfort in expecting the worst and being pleasantly surprised. If we get in the play-offs, and we win the lot, I’ll be as pleased as the next man/woman. But I have feared for this day as far back as that Tampa Bay series over two days a month ago. Our pitching has been a disaster waiting to happen.

        This is how we do things in SE London!

  2. Jup
    September 27, 2011 at 9:42 am | #4

    How can we give up ont hem now? We’ve been by their side through a miserable April, and we were rewarded with a kickass summer of amazing baseball! This is another test. They are testing our tempers, patience, and faith, but we must not waiver. Our reward for sticking with them through a miserable September will be October baseball. We HAVE to believe that they can win these last two games. Red Sox fans do not quit on their team. We are genetically programmed to cheer until the last out. Put on your rally caps, kids, we’ve got two games to go! (There. Was that peppy enough?)

    • Dmitri Old
      September 27, 2011 at 12:39 pm | #5

      Giving up does not imply turning my back on them. I will still wake up at 2:30 / 3 this morning, get the smart phone, boot up the net and hang on the score. Of course I will. I just have settled into the belief this is going to end in tears.

      I would love it to end with us smashing the Yankees to a pulp in the ALCS. It would be brilliant. I am genetically programmed to be a fatalist. The sort who followed Game 7 in 2003 on the net, knowing we would lose, because that’s what happens…. just as we were supposed to in 2004 (to be very pleasantly surprised).

      Hope you have a good evening people!

  3. September 27, 2011 at 3:15 pm | #6

    I’m there with you. I’m still going to watch both games, hoping for a miracle, but as a matter of self preservation, I have to start coming to terms with the inevitable. I would find it easier to “Believe” if the team showed any signs of life (with the exception of Ellsbury, Pedroia, Scutaro and Pap). Maybe they will tonight, with their backs up against the wall, maybe something will finally click. Let’s Go Red Sox!

  4. JW
    September 27, 2011 at 4:47 pm | #7

    In the immortal words of John Blutarsky:

    “My advice to you is to start drinking heavily.”

  5. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 5:01 pm | #8

    Not thinking they have it in them to win does not mean anyone is quitting. They look done. They also could very well start killing everyone any minute. The fact is you just don’t know.

    As a realist I am so sick of people saying, Well you aren’t a fan if you don’t believe. The Red Sox have given me plenty of reason not to believe in them but here I sit ready to follow another game and get pissed again.

  6. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 5:03 pm | #9

    Yankee stadium is full of it. I have seen their security sit around and watch people get hassled. That article is a sham

  7. Dmitri Old
    September 27, 2011 at 6:03 pm | #10

    I just liked to tell you all “good luck”. We’re all counting on you.

    Off to my sleep hoping for a miracle. My football team (English league) lost having held a late lead so hoping this is not a portent of things to come.

    Best of British luck to the Sox.

  8. September 27, 2011 at 7:40 pm | #11

    Frustrating. I am half entertaining the boy, half watching this accursed game, half scaring him with French cursewords projected directly at the screen.

  9. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 8:34 pm | #12

    We finally hit and then Bedard starts sucking. I just want to sleep until October is over.

  10. September 27, 2011 at 8:35 pm | #13

    Okay. FDA. I went to walk the boy back to his car. He is driving back to Raleigh. I come back, and Bedard has died.
    Seriously. I get that we have a special Franco connection, Bedard, but I’m not always going to be there. I mean, what would happen if I was gone for MORE than ten minutes?
    On another note, I’m unsupervised now. And angry. So who knows what I will destroy in the game rages that this game will create?

  11. September 27, 2011 at 8:43 pm | #14

    Do you know anything about Marion, Mattapoisett and Rochester, Mass?

  12. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 8:59 pm | #15

    Nope. I know nothing. Except they are far away from me.

    I know about Bedard. Now Lavarnway just left the bases loaded.

    Granderson hit into a double play and practically walked to first but he got his rbi and now the evil teams are tied. They will blow it on purpose though so don’t you worry your new hair cut.

    I am glad you have a new guy but if he doesn’t have the brains to not show up during baseball season he needs to go. (Just so you know I am TOTALLY being sarcastic. I am always sarcastic.

    I created a new blog you might like.

    http://firedannyainge.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/a-team-of-one/

  13. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:01 pm | #16

    OMG The Yankees just grounded into a TRIPLE PLAY.

    Oh Russell Martin you are doing such a great job keeping us out of the postseason you DAMN KAREEM GARCIA

  14. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:02 pm | #18

    The Yankees are blatantly cheating. Not that MLB will give a crap.

  15. September 27, 2011 at 9:10 pm | #19

    I might have another interview- this time in that part of mass…
    This game is a little better. 7-3.

  16. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:14 pm | #20

    I agree. It’s much better 7-3 and more proof that Aceves is the MVP of this team.
    The Yankees trying to lose this game is pathetic.

  17. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:15 pm | #21

    4 runs is not enough. I want / NEED more runs.

  18. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:16 pm | #22

    Lavarnway is up now with no one on base. I’ll bet you anything he gets a hit.

  19. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:17 pm | #23

    Never mind. He isn’t up. He is catching. The game day made it look like he was up.

  20. September 27, 2011 at 9:18 pm | #24

    We need 18 runs. 18.

  21. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:22 pm | #25

    No NOT 18. When we score 18 runs we do nothing the next night. 17, 17 is a good number. 20, an even better number. Just not 18.

  22. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:23 pm | #26

    Aceves is the MVP. If we make the playoffs I am making a sign and hanging it out my window.

  23. September 27, 2011 at 9:24 pm | #27

    i will join you in this endeavor.

  24. Dmitri Old
    September 27, 2011 at 9:31 pm | #28

    5-3 Rays.

    Colon (81 pitches) walks one, Girardi takes him out, brings in former Ray Soriano, who gives up a three run shot.

    Crooked stuff….

    • FireDannyAinge
      September 27, 2011 at 9:37 pm | #29

      THANK YOU Dimitri. It’s obvious the Yankees are losing on purpose and no one will say a word.

  25. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:38 pm | #30

    Stupid Cards just scored 5 runs. Damn it.

  26. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:45 pm | #31

    Oh Lavarnway. Bases loaded he does nothing. His next at bat, homerun. He is a Red Sox now:)

  27. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:48 pm | #32

    And another thing. Francona praising Girardi the other day was complete bull shit. Girardi was so accommodating Girardi wanted to know what we wanted to do and then he pulls this BS?
    Francona is an idiot and I am sick of the Yankee ass kissing.

  28. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:52 pm | #33

    This is how I feel

    • Dmitri Old
      September 27, 2011 at 10:02 pm | #34

      Good lord. I have that album!

  29. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 9:56 pm | #35

    OMG BRING BACK ACEVES

  30. Dmitri Old
    September 27, 2011 at 10:03 pm | #36

    A great 9th inning effort. Swing, Swing, and Swing again….

  31. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 10:04 pm | #37

    I have been reading around. Everyone thinks NY is losing on purpose. Even Yankee fans.

    Oh Bard.

  32. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 10:06 pm | #38

    Francona needs to be fired. That’s it he needs to go. Thanks for the world series but that was 4 years ago.

  33. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 10:12 pm | #39

    and he leaves him in because we might need Papelbon for a game that doesn’t even matter but hey, leave him in.

    I need a drink.

  34. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 10:33 pm | #40

    Good luck getting that contract PAPELBON!

  35. Dmitri Old
    September 27, 2011 at 10:44 pm | #41

    exhale and goodnight.

  36. September 27, 2011 at 10:47 pm | #42

    See you tomorrow!

  37. FireDannyAinge
    September 27, 2011 at 10:48 pm | #43

    It’s over anyway. Win or lose we are done. Papelbon used a million pitches to get out of that and now if the game is close tomorrow night we use Wheeler as our closer. That means a loss.

    I am disgusted with the Yankees cheating. Never been this pissed after a win.

  38. Jup
    September 27, 2011 at 11:16 pm | #44

    There is thismuch fight left in this team. I don’t know what it means for them or their playoff aspirations, but it’s nice to see a tiny bit of fight.

  39. September 28, 2011 at 7:29 am | #45

    There is something wrong with me. I fell asleep. We won…

  40. September 28, 2011 at 9:44 am | #46

    Do not give up, Boston. Don’t let Sportsattitudes down. (However, Dubs’ advice to drink heavily is sound at this point)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

