Home > Football. I write about football. What???, Scary Red Sox Rants > A Too Soxy EMERGENCY! Vote, people!

A Too Soxy EMERGENCY! Vote, people!

Blog bud FDA just alerted me to a matter of national importance. Red Sox national importance, that is.

There’s a poll. A POLL, people! About a Carlton Fisk moment and a Johnny Damon moment.

Rally the nation.

It’s Boston’s Greatest Sports Moment Tournament!

Vote for Fisk or GET OFF MY BLOG.

This one kind of hurts, actually. I wasn’t born in 1975. But I was a college sophomore in 2004. And I remember very clearly how I felt about that slam. I remember being in the lobby of my dorm room with my boyfriend, a boyfriend who was on a computer doing something computery. I remember very clearly, see, because, in my excitement of jumping on an old dorm sofa, I knocked it over and ended up doing this really classy backflip. I was wearing my “Go Johnny, Go” t-shirt, see. And my husband at the time (JD) didn’t disappoint. Oh, the way his hair flopped around when he turned those bases…

(warning, Peter, prep your gag reflex)

It was amazing.

And then, 2005 rolled around.

Rolled around. Clobbered us. And… And… well… the divorce. And the bitter, bitter custody battle. The one where, to keep the peace, I just burned your t-shirts in a barrel outside a bar in Morganton, North Carolina… You can keep the cloth, but you can never keep custody of my hopes and dreams!!!!!

Um. Or someone. Someone did that. Um… Is that illegal? Probably. Um.

He got custody of all those moments. Moments like that grand slam that gave me this horrific shoulder bruise.

Moment gone.

Tainted.

Gone.

I’m okay. It was six years ago people. I’m okay… I mean. Divorce is a part of life. You move on. YOU MOVE ON. I have Kevin Youkilis now. I have Kevin Youkilis and DL or no DL, he is in the lineup of our HEARTS.

sigh.

L

PS- I just… (yeah, kind of out of it) caught wind of Miami troubles. Are you guys reading about this? They could get a “death sentence?” I had a weird and entirely un-relay-able convo with our sports director about this. I’m more confused that I was from the original story…

  1. FireDannyAinge
    August 22, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Damon fans are not as persistent as Damon haters. Just sayin:)

  2. thegreatdepressive
    August 22, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    Boston fans are amazing. They’ve won seven titles in the four major North American major sports leagues in the last decade, yet they’re desperate to make sure that a moment from Game 6 of a series they LOST wins the day. What a trip!

    • FireDannyAinge
      August 22, 2011 at 9:47 pm

      HELLO Most people think we won that series. Go celebrate your last world title and leave us be.

      • thegreatdepressive
        August 22, 2011 at 11:48 pm

        HELLO Most people do not think that. Typing something in all caps does not make it so. And nice comment about my last world title. How ironic that you’ve become the typical Yankees fan for the 86 years pre-2004.

  3. August 22, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    Damon fans? I’m not familiar with the term.

  4. August 23, 2011 at 8:15 am

    After voting for Fisk, the “stats” read 74%-26% in his favor (as of 8AM Eastern). Who’s this Damon guy anyway?

  5. FireDannyAinge
    August 23, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    thegreatdepressive :
    HELLO Most people do not think that. Typing something in all caps does not make it so. And nice comment about my last world title. How ironic that you’ve become the typical Yankees fan for the 86 years pre-2004.

    Oh please. First of all I have always been this obnoxious. I was this obnoxious in the 70′s and 80′s. Shows how much you know.

    Second- I have a hard time dealing with trolls like you and not telling them (you)_ what I think. You go to a Red Sox blog and insult Red Sox fans/red sox and then whine like a &&***(( two year old when someone tells you to shut up. so SHUT UP and I hate to break it to you a few years ago someone outside of Boston did a poll and most people thought the Red Sox won that series so you’re an idiot.

    Third only the word HELLO was all capitals so WTF are you talking about? Go celebrate when ever it is your team last won a world series and bite me. (Not literally. That would hurt)

    • thegreatdepressive
      August 24, 2011 at 12:54 pm

      1. I don’t care what you acted like in the ’70s or ’80s. I know what you act like today. And that’s like a Yankees fan.

      2. I’ve done a hell of a good job trolling like when I picked the Red Sox to win the World Series in the preseason or when I wrote a long analysis saying why I felt they were the best team in the American League and would only lose to Philly because of superior pitching and home field advantage. I’ve not whined like a “&&***” (whatever that is). I’m just astonished you have so little humor that you can’t take a joke. I don’t like Boston. That is a fact. If I write a comment on this blog or write a guest post, I’m probably going to make jokes about the team and/or city. But I’m always honest in my views of how the team will perform and my statements have been pretty much glowing all year long. It’s a shame you’re so blinded by your fanaticism you can’t see that. If you want to act like a “&&***” and call me out on every little comment that crushes your ego, that’s fine. too. I’m a big boy. I can take care of myself. I’d love to see this poll that you use as evidence. I did a Google search and found no evidence of any controversy or belief over who won the 1975 World Series. I would bet that if a poll was conducted today over which team won the 1975 World Series with Boston and Cincinnati being the two main choices, that a majority would say Cincinnati.

      3. Uh yes. HELLO was in all caps. That was my point. And once again the Yankees comments. I bet that got you steamed when they’d tell you to celebrate in 1918, especially since you needed guys on PEDs to break the curse ;)

  6. dd
    August 24, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Darn it. I wrote a reply out and somehow deleted it before I posted it. Now I don’t feel like doing it again.

    You are not worth it twice. I’ll just live in the fact the Pirates will never be anything but a waste of a MLB team that should be dismantled. Or sent to a state that actually has real fans that support its team.

    • thegreatdepressive
      August 24, 2011 at 2:59 pm

      That’s slightly hurtful. I think I’m always worth getting savaged in blog comments.

      A waste of a MLB team. Big words against a team that is tied for 7th most World Series all time. In fact, until the Sawx decided to end their self-loathing depression and actually win a Series in the new millenium, they were tied with Pittsburgh. So you’re only a few years removed friend.

      On a sidenote, I’ve endorsed a system like European soccer leagues where the weakest teams are demoted and the top teams from the minors jump leagues each year. The teams already set up perfectly to do so. It’d just be a battle against the owners of teams like Pittsburgh, Baltimore, etc. It might help those teams if they had the fear of having to drop to AAA for a year (or longer) to improve their product on the field.

      It’s kind of hard to blame the fans for not supporting a team when the ownership have made few attempts to make the team better. Why support the Pirates when you have two other teams in the city who actually win titles and continue to try to improve? Any time the Pirates have started to improve, the assets are quickly sold to a team willing to spend the money. It’s one thing to struggle as a small-market team and it’s another to profit by putting crappy teams out year after year while living off the luxury tax payments that teams like Boston and New York pay out because they actually care about winning baseball games.

      Let’s not kid ourselves. Winning draws fans. Why do you find Cowboys/Steelers fans everywhere you go? Because their teams have a history of winning. Red Sox Nation may have existed before the “curse” was lifted, but I think it’s painfully clear that the bandwagon went over capacity. People love to win. If Boston ownership decided they were going to be like the Pirates in the past 20 years and just put a bunch of scrubs on the field every game, attendance and popularity would dry up. That’s a fact. And don’t give me the “Oh we suffered for 86 years crap”. I counted about 51 winning seasons during the 86 year drought. There was a 15 season streak below .500 until 1933 and an 8 season losing streak through the ’60s but that’s pretty much it. You’ve had four sub-.500 seasons in the last 20 years and not one since 1997. Look what happened to Cleveland who used to sell out every game. If you want to talk about fanbases that don’t support quality product, you should be talking about Atlanta, Tampa Bay, and Florida. My God! There are only three teams that have won multiple World Series in the post-strike era: Boston, Yankees, and Florida. And people still don’t go to Marlins games! If you want to talk about dismantling/contracting teams you ought to be looking at those who can’t get fan support no matter what happens. Put a good product in PNC, and you’ll see the fans come out. Put a good product in a Florida stadium and….well you know.

  7. FireDannyAinge
    August 24, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    You don’t expect me to read that novel you wrote do you? I skimmed and came up with the following words,

    Tied, Baltimore, Boston, NY, Tampa. My only guess is you are talking about the ALE except you forgot Toronto.

    I am serious, reading novel like length comments about the ALE is boring to me.

    • thegreatdepressive
      August 24, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      No FDA, I don’t expect you to read my comments. In fact, based on the substance of your responses, I figured you ignored them already :)

      • FireDannyAinge
        August 24, 2011 at 6:55 pm

        I never ignore the insane. Unless they write novels.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

