Home > Drunken Live Blogging > And just in time… to lose?

And just in time… to lose?

JUST got off work. Bottom of the 8th? 2 outs. And… OUT. Pedroia.

What happened?

“An unusual thing to happen to Daniel Bard tonight…” ~Announcer.

What unusual thing? What unusual thing?

I HATE 13 hour, no-lunch-break days.

—–

Oh.

Daniel Bard’s scoreless streak of 26 1/3 innings — spread over 25 outings since May 27 — finally came to an end on Monday night at Fenway.

Oh.

Asdrubal Cabrera. Oh.

“You go out there with confidence every time,” Bard said of the streak before the game. “I expect the same thing out of myself every time, which is to throw up a zero or two zeroes — whatever they ask of me. Nothing really changes for me. My confidence level is definitely high, but whose wouldn’t be if you get on one of these rolls? A lot of it’s luck, but I’ll take some credit, I guess, myself. A little bit.”

BARD! You jinxed it! Didn’t you ever go to elementary school? Don’t you know how these jinxes work?????

I bet you didn’t even knock on wood.

The Indians. I’ve always said those non-politically-correct-feather-heads were a problem.

But… Bard… that was only part of the 9-6 game… who allowed the other runs???

Oh.

OH.

John Lackey started off in a way previously unseen this season, as he had his first 1-2-3 first inning of 2011, struck out three of the first six batters he faced, and retired the first eight Cleveland batters of the night. Once he did allow a hit, the Indians were able to get to him, as they scored five runs over Lackey’s 6 2/3 innings of work.

OH. IT WAS YOU, JOHN LACKEY.

ABLE TO GET TO HIM??????? They were able to TRAMPLE him.

Someone needs to threaten you. Or scream at you. Or something.

BIG SURPRISE.

You quit.

Hah.

What do we do with you Lackey? Is it your feelings? Are your ‘ittle feelings getting in the way of pitching the damn ball?

Do you need an inspirational speech? Is that what you need? Because I can do that. Inspirational speeches… inspirational speeches… Ah. Here we are.

“You are so full of crap… you’ve got hardly a speck of athletic ability. And you hung in with the best baseball team in the land for TWO YEARS. And you’re also going to walk out of here with a win from the WORLD SERIES. In this lifetime you don’t have to prove nothing to nobody but yourself. And after what you’ve gone through, if you haven’t done that by now, it ain’t gonna never happen. Now go on back.”

USELESS.

Well, that settles it. The pledge is null and void. You did this to yourself, Johnny. Why do you make me mock you so?

WHY???? Do you think I ENJOY this?

I think you have deep seated issues, deeper than I, a blogger, can deal with. I think you need to talk to Timlin or something.

Thoughts on the game I missed? Observations I should know about?

Bah. Humbug. The Stanks are 1.5 behind. Top of the 9th, 3-2, Stanks. GOOOOOOOO WHITE SOX.

~L

  1. FireDannyAinge
    August 1, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    Lackey was winning 5-3 then he gave up two homeruns in a row to tie it. Then Bard gave up a homerun no one really thought was a homerun but I missed it because I changed the channel when Lackey blew the lead.

    Lets see the SS jinx continued. Scuturo left the game feeling dizzy. I am too hot to care. Plus I had a nap and now I will be up all night bitching about ESPN using as their top story because we were losing. They didn’t put it up until Bard gave up the hOmerun. I HATE ESPN~~~~~~~

  2. August 1, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    OF COURSE Lackey blew the lead. OF COURSE.
    Scut was dizzy. Mmmhmmm. Blah.
    I don’t think this is Daniel Bard’s fault.
    ESPN steals privacy. See my previous blog.

  3. FireDannyAinge
    August 1, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    The baseball season is too long. It makes my tummy hurt. You would think this team would be RARING to beat Cleve;and after they swept us but nope. Adrian still walks to first. Urgh

  4. August 2, 2011 at 12:47 am

    at least he is not broken. i’d rather him walk and live than do something dumb and get a stress fracture. and maybeeeee if john lackey would learn that the pitcher is the only sox position that shouldn’t have anything to do with homeruns, it wouldn’t be as much of an issue. it’s like he wants my ridicule. he does. he wants it. he’s like bill murray with the dentist in little shop of horrors.

  5. August 2, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Did someone just say “The baseball season is too long?” I’m not sure I understand that sentence.

  6. August 2, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    if it makes you feel any better, that was the first time we have scored at least 9 runs in a game since june first. in that time we’ve scored 7 runs 3 times and 8 runs once. the rest of the time we’re lucky if we’ve gotten 4. so thanks for throwing john lackey at us to give us some mojo back. of course tonight we face Beckett so we’ll probably figure out a way to score negative runs.

  1. October 26, 2011 at 11:48 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

