Home > Previews and pep talks > Peace, Yamaico. We hardly knew ye…

Peace, Yamaico. We hardly knew ye…

No wonder you got so much playing time lately, Yamaico! You were Theo Epstein’s very own version of a buyer’s showcase.

It was almost good while it lasted, Yamaico. I mean, it was okay. I mean, it didn’t suck. Most of the time. You hit the ball that one time. Remember?

I feel like we should say a few words about our evicted comrade.

Like… share our favorite Yamaico memories. Okay.

You start.

Um.

Okay.

I’ll start.

Um.

It was cool. When you hit the ball. That one time. It was a homerun? In Texas, maybe?

Have fun in Kansas. There’s lots to do in Kansas. Really. Everyone’s favorite movie is based in Kansas.

(See, Yamaico? This could be you. But without the singing and stuff.)

I mean, I think “Wizard of Oz” was filmed in California. And um… most of it is based in… um… Oz… But. Um.

And they have a lot of farms in Kansas. And everyone has to eat. I like eating.

Oh. And there’s that possibility that a tornado might sweep you up into a colorful metaphor for growing up.

Right.

Well.

Um.

Have a good life.

“I think it’s probably good for him because I think he’ll get a chance to probably play more there than he would here,” Francona said. “We certainly wish him well.”

In other news, you were replaced by Mike Aviles, called a “utility” infielder.

(Does he look like he’s compensating for something in this shot? Just asking…)

“He’s a guy I think our organization has kind of liked from afar for a while,” said Red Sox manager Terry Francona. “He came up — he was that guy that could really hit left-handers — actually both.”

I wish I had paid better attention when the Royals were in town.

I think THIS is encouraging, at least.

So, Soxies… thoughts? Comments? Casual observations? Styling tips? Leave a comment. And feel free to shoot me critical e-mails- ohnolauren@gmail.com.

~L

  1. July 30, 2011 at 7:24 pm | #1

    This screams “fisrt step” to me. Trade a utility infielder for a utility infielder a week before your utility infielder gets off the DL?

  2. FireDannyAinge
    July 30, 2011 at 8:42 pm | #2

    Good point 36.

    I actually have several memories of this kid but they are all from pre-season. He hot like crazy in pre-season. I think.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

