Home > Previews and pep talks > The Pink Series

The Pink Series

Get it? Red… White… PINK?

The battle of who gets to keep their Sox.

White Sox games leave me bittersweet, remembering the good ol’ days watching the Charlotte Knights (The White Sox’ Triple A) knock around Fort Mill.

I can still remember the day Peavy pitched. Lovely.

And then… the PawSox would come into town… and I’d switch hats, turning into the traitor you see before you. Can’t mess with my Red Sox, guys. And Peavy, you were naive if you thought this would last when the REAL team came to town. I AM married, after all. Hi, Youkie.

But see, this game isn’t about nostalgia. This game is about TIM WAKEFIELD.

19 seasons. And it comes to this. GAME 200. Happens TONIGHT.

“One step closer,” he said of the 200-win mark. “I’ve been fortunate this year to pitch as well as I have. The last couple haven’t been that great, but they’ve been good enough and I’ve been fortunate to be on a great team and to get some wins here and there.”

200 or BUST. BUST. Do you hear me, Youkie? BUST.

In honor of Timmy’s milestone, I’d like to hear your Tim Wakefield memories. Shoot your best/most vivid one to the comments section.

A few changes: Gonz- scratched. Youk- first.

You can do it, hubbie.

~L

PS- “BUST” wasn’t meant to be literal. Please don’t break, Youkie.

  1. FireDannyAinge
    July 29, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    My memories of Wakefield are usually of him sucking as a closer and blowing games every night from last Century.

    If you are looking for good memories I’ve got one and it’s vague. I think he almost had a no hitter like last year or the year before but he gave up a hit late.

    I remember being nervous for him cuz he is the old man and I wanted him to get the no hitter. That is my memory of Curt Schilling too:)

  2. July 30, 2011 at 7:05 am

    I’m only 14 and really started watching baseball in ’07, so mine comes more recently. It was 2009, and he allowed 3 hits and 2 runs to the Oakland A’s in a complete game win where we beat them 8-2 or something, we creamed them in any case.

  1. September 7, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

