Home > Uncategorized > Bad news for baseball.

Bad news for baseball.

Baseball lost another of its own today. Not my favorite player. Not my favorite team.

Former Yankees pitcher Hideki Irabu was found dead at his California home yesterday. 

But very, very sad.

Suicide suspected. Since “retiring” in 2002, it’s been a checkered life, with bar fights and ridicule. Remember Steinbrenner’s “Fat Toad” remark? Sad events like this remind us all that, despite our passions, it is just a game. And they are just people. And it’s sad that anyone ever felt this alone.

Rest in peace.

~L

  1. July 28, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    The sad thing is when I first heard about it, the first thing that came to mind was George’s ‘fat toad’ comment. Given that every news story I’ve read about it has mentioned it, it’s fair to say I’m not the only one. I’m not saying he killed himself because of this comment, but it certainly wouldn’t have helped a guy who was obviously very troubled.

    http://bluejaysnest.mlblogs.com/

  2. FireDannyAinge
    July 28, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    I am the girl that laugehd when Danny Ainge had a heart attack.
    I’ll forget I ever read this blog about the death of an ex-Yankee.

  3. July 29, 2011 at 5:15 am

    I had not heard this. My goodness, I remember distinctly when he joined the pin stripers. Rest in peace, Hideki.

  4. July 29, 2011 at 8:18 am

    Well done, L

  5. July 29, 2011 at 9:54 am

    I hadn’t heard of this before. I saw “Hideki Irabu” in the headline column on SportsCenter, but didn’t stick around to see what they would say. I am sorry to admit that I thought of “Fat Toad” when I saw his name. He deserves better, may he rest in peace.
    Catherine

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

