Home > Sox Game Recaps > 14 innings of crap with crap call icing.

14 innings of crap with crap call icing.

My feelings this A-M can best be expressed by THIS CARTOON by The Soxaholix.

REALLY?!

I have had some time to reflect. Yes I have. So let me amend that.

REEEEEEALLLLLLYYYYY???!!!

“I just didn’t see the sign,” Scutaro said. “My fault. I was kind of watching the signs but didn’t see the squeeze. I was watching Bogie (third base coach Tim Bogar). I was focused on getting a pitch to hit.”

“It’s my fault; I just missed the sign,” Scutaro said afterward. “Tito’s trying to get something going. It’s late. We haven’t scored. We’ve been kind of struggling tonight bringing guys in from third base … It just feels bad, man. It feels like all your teammates, the manager, fans just want to kill you.”

REALLY????!!!!!!

It’s just one game. Just one game. We’re still at the top. Because, it being one game, it’s not exactly the point of a knife.

It’s just one game. To. One. Of. The. WORST TEAMS.

REALLY????

After 12 innings. TWELVE. No. I’m sorry. FOURTEEN

“We just missed the sign,” said Red Sox manager Terry Francona, whose team was 1-for-11 with runners in scoring position. “I thought it was a good opportunity. We got half of it right. We didn’t’ get the whole thing right. Red got it and Scoot didn’t. We had some other opportunities too. We kind of let them off the hook it felt like. I know there’s not much sleep anyway, but that will be a tough one tonight.”

We? WE missed the sign? No WE didn’t. YOU DID, Marco. YOU DID.

FAILS: Marco Scutaro

FAILS: Garry Cederstrom. And BAD CALLS.

FAILS: The fact that it took TWELVE INNINGS TO LOSE.

MVP: Crawford. Who kept his cool in the midst of some of the dumbest calls ever made.

Runner up: Reddick. YOU WERE PAYING ATTENTION!

MVP: Scutaro. Oh wait. I think I meant. Mauled Victory Perpetrator. Because you mauled my victory, Scut.

REALLY?

I can’t talk about this.

~L

“It stinks,” he said. “We waited around for two and a half hours to play a five-hour baseball game. It sucks. You want to come out on top of these ones.

~Jon Lester.

“The exam was really good,” Francona said about Youkie-poo. “He hit the bag, and I think his heel sort of gave way a little bit.

“I think we’ll stay away from him tomorrow, but hopefully, it won’t be anything more than that. Who knows.”

Jon. I am glad you are not broken. But if Youkie is broken… oh, Scut, you will get a letter from me.

  1. July 26, 2011 at 11:38 am | #1

    I bet that letter for Scut is a “Scarlet Letter”…to be displayed to all for eternity…or until he gets a game-winning hit.

  2. July 26, 2011 at 3:19 pm | #2

    Maybe we should just focus on Lester pitching well. It’s a lot more fun that way.

  3. July 26, 2011 at 3:20 pm | #3

    You are so smart, S36.

  4. July 26, 2011 at 7:23 pm | #4

    In fairness to Scutaro, what are the odds that anyone on the team even bothered to learn the squeeze sign. On a Francona team? Even Red got to have it whispered to him at third base.

  5. FireDannyAinge
    July 26, 2011 at 8:00 pm | #5

    I went to bed at 1.23. I woke up and 2, 27 and looked at results. I gettin smart and going to sleep during these marathon BS failed suicide squeeze games. Well sort of. I did stay up til 1 am.

    I blame Tito. This was an unfair thing to lay on Scuturo. I know they have sign’s for this stuff but if you never use them like NEVER then you should have warned him.

  6. July 27, 2011 at 7:57 am | #6

    Scutaro has been nothing but a disappointment since he left the Jays which is pretty much what I expected from him. He had one decent year then the Sox signed him to a long term deal to be their starting SS. He’s a bench player at best.

    http://bluejaysnest.mlblogs.com/

  7. July 27, 2011 at 11:24 am | #7

    FireDanny, don’t blame Tito. It was the right play at the right time. One thing went wrong and doom ensued. Scutaro’s a professional major league baseball player so Tito didn’t “lay” anything on him. That’s just my opinion.

    • FireDannyAinge
      July 27, 2011 at 6:21 pm | #8

      I agree he is a professional but I can’t blame someone for making a mistake on something like that when it is NEVER used.

      Honestly I appreciate the world series but Tito is the luckiest manager in baseball history. Game 7 ALCS using Pedro after what happened in 03. OMG I am still yelling at my television.

      I also don’t think Scuturo has been a dissapointment at all. I think he has done a decent enough job. I don’t think the Sox are ever going to have a star SS. The Nomar curse:)

      • July 27, 2011 at 6:34 pm | #9

        I have been increasingly okay with Scut. Partly because of my unexplained aversion to Jed Lowrie. But after Monday… we need space, Scut and I. Space.

  8. July 27, 2011 at 1:28 pm | #10

    I’m so glad I didn’t see that part. I probably would have woke up the whole house, dogs and cats included, and possible even the gerbil. It’s been much more fun to read your blogs about it. Soxy, you are the most entertaining blogger that I read.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

