Home > Scary Red Sox Rants > Yuck. Double yuck. A quick mid-day rant.

Yuck. Double yuck. A quick mid-day rant.

WARNING (in honor of PETER). The following image is cringe worthy. While TOOSOXY does not condone the use of illegal and harmful substances, we DO recommend you have an anti-nausea drug like Pepto-Bismal or its generic equivalent on hand when viewing the following image. Okay. Ready? Here it is:

Johnny Damon is on someone’s “Most Likeable Players” list. No. Really. He is. Click here and see.

Dissect this description for me, will you:

Would have stayed in Boston for less $$ but was forced to the Yanks. Success did not change him. He’s remained someone his mom could be proud of. Never whined, when not given the media attention he deserved.

Nevvvvver whined. I’m sure that pouty, “You’re welcome for making it fun again” comment was an oversight. Remember that time he made a big deal out of saying he would not HOF it in a Sox uniform? You know, Cooperstown A) doesn’t work like that and B) doesn’t want him? Standing on a metaphorical street with metaphorical heels, shaking his ass and pleading for the media to come get some? (I just called him a media whore. You caught that, right?)

“There’s no way I can go play for the Yankees, but I know they are going to come after me hard. … It’s definitely not the most important thing to go out there for the top dollar, which the Yankees are going to offer me. It’s not what I need.”

Poor dear. Forced to play for pinstripes and swim in cash. Too much money to spend, what will he do? (I know! Make a website!)

I’m going to stop. Because this is too ridiculously easy. And this is giving him more media attention. You know. The kind he whines for. Every. Other. Fricking. Day. But please, feel free to dissect this yourself in the comments. I encourage it.

AND- there is a blogger out there already thinking about Youkilis leaving the Sox. As the future Mrs. Youkilis, I am incensed.

Middlebrooks is viewed as a future power hitting third baseman who will offer an impressive, well-rounded package of above-average offense and defense. He will be the first player about whom most teams will ask in trade conversations. That said, his value to the Sox is also substantial, given that he is expected to be big league-ready by the time that Kevin Youkilis’ contract expires. If Youkilis either departs or were to transition to DH, Middlebrooks is situated as his logical successor at third.

So, clearly, I do not like this Middlebrooks guy. How dare he excel in Youk’s possible stead? Curses. Let’s send him away. Send him away, I say!

Youkilis is going to stay forever, see. He will reside with us always and be the Tek to our third base. The Wake to our lineup. The spring in our step?

HEWILLBEHEREFOREVERSHUTUP.

For an off day, there’s quite a lot to get stewed over.

~L

  1. July 21, 2011 at 3:41 pm | #1

    I just typed up what a fan said. Sigh.

  2. July 21, 2011 at 3:52 pm | #2

    I almost forgot. Thanks for the advertisement. I’ve gotten 10 extra views from my link being on your blog.

  3. July 21, 2011 at 3:56 pm | #4

    Hi there. As soon as I clicked on your familiar blog, I was assaulted with a picture of Johnnie. I guess I didn’t expect it but I’m OK now after a few minutes of recuperation.

    • July 21, 2011 at 4:00 pm | #5

      I’m so sorry! Silly me, not to think of how my actions could impact others. Next time I have to put an offensive picture on a page to prove a point, I’ll put a big warning label. It shall be called the “Peter Warning” and it shall be in capital letters.

  4. FireDannyAinge
    July 21, 2011 at 9:03 pm | #6

    That is the dumbest blog ever written by anyone and I don’t care if he reads these comments. I have no patience for people with total disregard for the FACTS.

    That blog smells of Yankee fan. If you have to go around telling everyone you are an un-biased fan then it means you are anything but.

    Damon is a jackass.

    • July 21, 2011 at 10:27 pm | #7

      For your information, the “FACTS” are just opinions from OTHER fans. I only came up with the questions. I DID NOT write the answers. Did you ACTUALLY read the entry? Or did you just see the Damon part and jump to conclusions? You have no patience for people who disregard the facts? Well, I have no patience for people who don’t take the time to read every word of the entry. Those were NOT my words. They were the words of another person. A fan of Damon. I AM unbiased, but that doesn’t mean that the fan I asked the questions to were. Lighten up!!!

  5. July 21, 2011 at 9:47 pm | #8

    How does one get ‘forced’ into signing with the Yankees? It’s not like he needed the money…

    http://bluejaysnest.mlblogs.com/

  6. July 22, 2011 at 5:18 am | #9

    Read my today’s post. You’ll be less worried. Oh, about JD, I’ve gotten over that surprising pic. The “Peter Warning” is great! Don’t worry about Ells going elsewhere. See my Friday post. Thanks.

  7. FireDannyAinge
    July 22, 2011 at 7:13 pm | #10

    It’s a fact what Damon wrote in his book about his ex wife and mother of his kids. Go to a book store if you need proof.

    It is also a fact that he did not come back to the Sox after he used them to get more money out of the Yankees. That is not opinion. Those are facts.

    Your blog is all about the Yankees. Need more facts all people need to do is go read it.

    It is my opinion you are not un-biased.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

