Home > Previews and pep talks > It’s okay, Giants kid. It could have been worse. The ball could have hit you in the face.

It’s okay, Giants kid. It could have been worse. The ball could have hit you in the face.

If he weren’t blatantly wearing a “Giants” sweatshirt, wouldn’t you think this kid’s an O’s fan?

In other news, um… in actual news… the schedule is out for next year- opening against Detroit! Which means coworker Jeff and I will have to draw a line across the office.

Home opener will be against the Rays.

If you buy me a ticket, I’ll even stay at your house!

—–

The internet is full of lively discussions about our Soxies. One that caught my eye: Why is JD Drew still playing for the Sox?

Anyone else think he sort of flew under the radar? He’s inconsistent. When he is good, he is very good. But when he is bad, he is… um… blah.

I don’t know. It’s hard, this transition. From being a JD Drew apologist to starting to see merit in the discussion…

Bill Ballou of the Worcester Telegram says there are a few reasons Drew’s still in the lineup:

Money is one reason. Even though Drew’s contract is almost up, the Sox still hope for one final hot month out of him to help them win in 2011. And I can’t imagine Reddick won’t take over in right field starting with this homestand when Ortiz’ suspension is done with. Drew’s career has, indeed, been a history of unfulfilled potential. It’s an interesting business, since he has made about as much money not fulfilling that potential as he would have had his career been as good as expected.

Thoughts? Is he really THAT bad? Can’t we put him the okay plus category?

—-

Bad news. ESPN says it’s likely we will not get Beltran.

So, if Beltran’s out, who is your ideal add? I hesitate to put any temps on the roster. I’d like more in-it-for-the-long-haul guys. No more Jason Bay heartbreakers.

Here’s a vote for Erik Bedard.

Here’s a vote for D-Lowe.

Thoughts?

oh. We won, btw. 4-0. How do you like them apples, Showalter?

~L

  1. FireDannyAinge
    July 20, 2011 at 9:07 pm | #1

    Now I am pissed. I have no chance of being their on April 20th now that we are playing the damn Yankees. I had plans. Great plans and it has all been ruined by those damn Yankees. I hate them.

    I have been re-thinking my D-Lowe to Boston. I LOVE HIM. I always will but I also love that he is loved here. He will always be remembered as one of the guys that swept that curse away.

    In 2004 when it looked like we had no chance of beating NY and D-Lowe was pitching game 4 (ALCS) my only concern was him not being the goat. I didn’t want him to be the guy blamed. Thankfully he did his job BIG time and helped save our team. Then he left as a hero. Someone that would always be a hero. If he comes back and doesn’t do as well he won’t be remembered as the hero.

    So while I LOVE MY D-Lowe and would love him here in Boston it is best for him to play for anyone else but the Yankees.

  2. FireDannyAinge
    July 20, 2011 at 9:09 pm | #2

    I also just noticed Atlanta will be back here again. So I am all for D-Lowe staying in Atlanta. There. Problem solved.

  3. July 20, 2011 at 10:15 pm | #3

    Maybe someone will give us tickets. Someone who appreciates our blogs. Someone like… Bruce.

  4. July 21, 2011 at 12:40 pm | #4

    Didn’t they give that kid stuff? Ima try that next time I go to a game. My feelings on Drew are kind of non-commital. I don’t hate him. I don’t love him. But I’m not sure I understand all the hatred being spewed at him.

  5. July 22, 2011 at 10:14 am | #5

    I stand ready to serve Red Sox Nation while patroling suburban Philadelphia trying to ensure Phillies’ fans…if pressed to select an AL Team to root for, select Boston. As stated previously, I think both our cities have suffered enough over the decades and are entitled to clean house now…take all the great players…overpay as needed…whatever it takes. Mutual slogan…”Anybody But The Yanks.” Could be a blog…with the Civil War “anniversary” I bet there’s a lot of people still saying that down South…y’all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

