Home > Previews and pep talks > Those birds sure do throw tantrums…

Those birds sure do throw tantrums…

Hi, Buck Showalter. You have lots of time to read this now that you’ve been banned. Get your Kleenex ready.

“I definitely think they need to go back and do their homework,” said Orioles left-hander Michael Gonzalez, who was suspended three games and fined $1,500 for throwing behind Ortiz on Sunday. “We’re already appealing it. I think (MLB needs) to go back and go through the whole series as opposed to just going through one game and seeing how everything fell into place.”

Really? Because I was under the impression that you only played in that “one game.” And, since this ruling deals with YOUR behavior, “one game” is all it takes, Miko. Let’s see what Bucky has to say.
Maybe you should get your stories straight so you could have a communal cry instead of a cry cacophony.
The great Oriole Tantrum 2011 saw a poo load of discipline.
Don’t worry, Showalter. It’s not like your boys can do any worse. They’re already losing.

Gregg called his punishment “very steep,” and said he didn’t think it was fair that he and Ortiz would receive similar discipline.

“You break down the situation,” Gregg said. “He actually came out at me twice. I defended myself. To get the same time, suspension, I don’t agree with it. That’s why I am appealing it.”

See, apparently, if you whine enough, you get to play. Gregg and Gonzalez get to play until their appeals are heard. Their whining, you see, has already been heard. A lot. Like a firetruck siren. Ohmyfrickinggod. Oh good. He’s not done.

“They’ve hit (52) guys on the year; we’ve hit (19). We hit one guy with a changeup, and they hit the (four) guys that they hit. So, I don’t know, I don’t agree with it,” Gregg said. “The way the process went down with the umpires, you know, it’s their job to handle the games, keep them under control. That’s their job. I will appeal my suspension and see what happens. There’s not a lot to say about it.”

Right. Because insulting the umpires is a sure-fire way to win an appeal…

“It was definitely frustrating. They obviously lead the league in batters hit. Obviously, a few of those seemed intentional,” Gonzalez said. “They’re hitting our star guys, and you’re going to get frustrated as a pitcher. Those are your guys. It’s kind of a family thing, and they were getting hit. Yeah, anyone’s going to be pretty mad about it.”

Mad about it? Like how Ortiz reacted? Remember how aghast you were at that? I do. I blogged about it.

Ohmygod just pop an anxiety pill already, okay? Stop ruffling your tail feathers. You are an insult to birds.

I am so tired of writing about whining and bitchiness. I feel like I’m writing a gossip column for the barbie pepsquad at a middle school. Jesus, Bucky. I knew you were irritating, but I had no idea your salty tears would flood the world.

Speaking of salty, salty tears… David Price is pitching tomorrow. You may recognize him from my hate list. My, how hate lists change. Don’t worry, David Price, you’re still on it.

On to business. Real business. Damn, it will feel good to play fricking baseball.

“It was an incredible first half, but the most important part is the second half. That’s the one that determines if we’re going to the playoffs or not. Hopefully, we come back on the same page and hopefully the guys on the DL will come back healthy.”- David Ortiz

~L

PS- Oh no! Cleveland just beat the Orioles! Ohio, prepare for a monsoon! Of salty, salty tears.

  1. July 15, 2011 at 7:38 am

    If you can’t beat ‘em, cry about how unfair it is.

  2. July 15, 2011 at 9:22 am

    Hmm. Sounds like a lot of he-said-she-said…or he-said-he-said. Too bad… would have liked to see them play it out on the field myself.
    –Jeff

  3. July 15, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Before I die, I would like to see one honest-to-goodness baseball fight where people actually hit each other. Is that too much to ask?

  4. FireDannyAinge
    July 15, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    Oh please go back and look at what happened MLB because the Red Sox weren’t the instigators.

    I also want to point out a good portion of the Sox pitchers that have hit players are people like Aceves. I remember that one game he kept hitting players. Someone got hit in the head I forget who but you could tell how nervous he was. It was like his first game, for us anyway . Then there was the kid who hit someone recently.

    The Orioles suck and they can’t handle it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

