Home > Previews and pep talks > A June World Series

A June World Series

That’s what everyone is saying.

“In the back of your mind, you kind of wonder if we’ll play them again,’’ Boston slugger David Ortiz said.

So much talk, talk, talk. Let’s see what my husband has to say:

Thatta boy- keep your head in the game, love.

“We don’t need to build it up,’’ Francona said. “They’re all important. We love them all; that’s why we play. I think it’s a little dangerous pointing to series, because then you’ve got a chance to stumble somewhere else.’’

But EVERYONE else is building it up, Tito. Turn on ESPN. Google “Red Sox.” Look to your heart of hearts. We’re all thinking the same thing.

Well, except my friend Chris, who said something horrible to me last night.

“Eh, I think they’ll both miss the play-offs by a game and a half,” he said.

My friend Chris is a prick.

But there’s pressure. Lots of it. Despite what Tito says. Despite what … Youk says.

If we weren’t a team that balked exclusively to unpressure, I’d be nervous.

The real pressure’s on Beckett, who just came out of a shut out. He’ll be pitching, conveniently, against another person who just came out of a shut out: Cliff Lee.

See, I like Cliff. Why? Because he didn’t go to the Yankees. And he turned down a wad of cash. See, Johnny, some people can do that. And he has a comic book name. Really. I can see it now: The Base Loader (insert theme music here), aka: Cliff Lee…

A girl can dream.

But really, I like the Phillies. They don’t irritate me like SOME teams (ahem, Angels. ahem, Braves). So I hope it’s us versus them in October. Best versus the best.

Fun fact- last time it was shut out pitcher versus shut out pitcher? A game where Terry Francona was the lead BATTER for the Indians.

The things the internet teaches you. Like that thing about porcupines and their ability to float. Who fricking knew?

But I digress…

Speaking of Tito, he’s not “expecting a parade.” Such dramatic sandwiches they are. Whatever. Back to the ace.

This game could put Beckett at a Pedro-level era.

I think this is going to be one of those games that comes down to the bull pen. And, if we were playing a team of losers, that would terrify me. But, my we-only-suck-to-suckies theory is something I’m quite confident in… you’ll see. Because the sandwiches are arrogant. Their fans are annoying (Call me a kettle and I’ll put hot steam in your eye), but they are not sucky.

And we have a not-so-secret weapon, after all:

The Red Sox just might have the solution to Cliff Lee, and it should come as no surprise that it is Adrian Gonzalez.

Gonzalez is 7 for 10 with a home run and three RBIs in his career against Lee. That’s the highest batting average of any batter with 10 or more plate appearances against him.

Speaking of the Gonz…

HAVE YOU VOTED YET?

If you’re feeling frisky, there’s a write-in option (hello, Tek). Just make sure you vote for KEVIN YOUKILIS. And Gonz and Pedroia and everybody. AND KEVIN YOUKILIS.

Dear Red Sox,

Stop hurting yourself.

Thanks.

Love,

Lauren

—-

So, scouting through the Red Sox site today and noticed a new, fun facet! Auctions! Was looking at all of the Red Sox things I can’t afford and found a hilarious statistic. 0 percent of John Lackey merchandise is selling. This Lackluster chair hast been up for bids since June 15. Apparently, people think his negativity can be passed from derriere to derriere. Fascinating.

The Lackey DL watch continues…

—-

And, if you want a Red Sox-free read about our favourite Bud Selig‘s exaggerated relevance, my blogger pal Jup has a doozy of a rant today, one that I thoroughly enjoyed. Check it out here.

—-

PS- Hateorade? Seriously? Does NOT do a body good, sandwich fans. John Gonzalez, you’re a prick.

—-

Keep your pellet guns ready. You know. JUST IN CASE.


  1. JW
    June 28, 2011 at 11:21 am

    A game where Terry Francona was a lead-off hitter??? Must have been a real pain carving those box scores on stone tablets…

  2. Jup
    June 28, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Thanks for the blog shout-out. I’m glad you enjoyed the rant!

    I think the key to Beckett winning tonight is to build up Cliff Lee as much as possible and make Beckett seem like an afterthought. Josh pitches better when his opponent is getting all the recognition (like against Pedro in 2006 and against Lowe in 2009). He likes being under the radar.

  3. FireDannyAinge
    June 28, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    I am sorry but Philly fans saying Boston is obnoxious is like Yankee fans whining about Boston fans. Hypocritical much?

    I love how people can’t see themselves in others.

    At least you can go to Fenway wearing another teams shirt and not get assaulted. Even Yankee fans don’t get treated like my friend did when he went to Philly and he wasn’t even wearing a Red Sox shirt. (He did have Sox sneakers on) He had gum thrown at him and was whacked in the head by the guy sitting behind him ten times.

    Ridiculous.

  4. June 28, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Red Sox sneakers?! I want some. I am still putting together the paper and it is 7:35. It is like the universe doesn’t understand i have a game to watch.

    • FireDannyAinge
      June 28, 2011 at 11:08 pm

      Don’t get me started on the universe being against me. Do you have that long?

      I have Sox sneakers too. I need to take a picture of them and show you how badly they are in need of repair but I still wear them anyway.

  5. June 28, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    The universe owes us ANOTHER apology. Seriously.

  1. June 28, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

