Home > Sox Game Recaps > Universe apologizes with rookie win

Universe apologizes with rookie win

Okay, universe. We begrudgingly accept your apology. BEGRUDGINGLY. But we are NOT okay.

Miller struts his rookie stuff, and you give us the win (I say give, because with that many errors, we shouldn’t be floating on air. After all, it is Jeb- aka Pirate Princess aka PP- and his little Jolly Roger gang. There was more talent in “the Sandlot”).

And sports copy editors get to use that headline they’ve been drooling over since they thought of it like a week ago: Red Sox sink pirates.They’re wetting themselves I sure.

A Papi slider.

“I went with everything I got, man,” he said. “The thing is his left leg was on the other side of the line and that’s where you go through. But things happen in the game. It was good it wasn’t anything bad, just a little touch and the contact you have with the catcher, but no collision.”

And he’s still smiling. Papi is ALWAYS smiling. And he earned those smiles.

Just prior to the final pitch that secured the walk, Ortiz had launched a 92 mph fastball from Moskos just barely to the right of the right field foul pole, and almost into the Allegheny River.

“I hit it good,” he said. “That pitch was very in so I don’t know how I kept it that fair.”

Everyone seems to be smiling, actually. Look around the blogosphere, and you’d think we swept the Phillies.

The rest of us? Not exactly viewing not being shut out by the fricking Pirates as the victory of the fricking year.

Good news?

At least Miller’s a rock star.

Crawford is coming back. Eventually. But, in the meantime, I’m really enjoying Reddick. I mean, he’s no Youk (sorry, Mom), but he’s fun to watch.

So. Good notes. Let’s focus on a crazy, sports pundit-filled week. Because with everyone and their third cousin calling this week’s sandwich-Sox series a Soxtober preview… We need to focus. Did you hear that Tito? FOCUS.

Sandwiches are not meant to win ball games. Remember that, Red Sox!

Dear Jeb,

Hah.

My feelings can best be expressed through this video clip:

Yours,

Lauren

PS. I can’t wait to get back to Fenway. ‘Cause that pirate ship is the pits.

Also, I’m starting a personal campaign for you to get your own blog. Go. Get it. Now.

Categories: Sox Game Recaps
  1. FireDannyAinge
    June 26, 2011 at 9:20 pm | #1

    I don’t accept any apology and I am not smiling. Barely beating bad teams is not allowed.

    ESPN said we are like 5-9 against bad teams but 8-1 against the Yankees. Gotta love being a Sox fan.

  2. June 27, 2011 at 3:50 am | #2

    Philly cheesesteak and you made me hungy at 3:31am.

  3. June 27, 2011 at 6:53 am | #3

    “Sandwiches.” I love that. With your permission, I shall start using that. Also…I’m really starting to worry about my trip to Houston next Saturday. The way the Sox are going….the ‘stros ARE the worst team in baseball, being the only team playing below .400. The odds are highly in favor of the Sox losing. I won’t be happy if that happens.

  4. June 27, 2011 at 9:19 am | #4

    And here come the Red Sox…welcome to Philadelphia…cheesesteaks for all…and two for you Papi. Jeb, I would suggest creating the blog today…

  5. June 27, 2011 at 9:23 am | #5

    Jeb has been awfully quiet…

  6. Jup
    June 27, 2011 at 10:04 am | #6

    I’m a little troubled by all the terrible fielding the Sox have shown this week. I think they all need to get their contacts checked. And JD Drew apparently needs a hockey mask to take batting practice.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

