Home > Sox Game Recaps > Tied for… first? But… didn’t you say that couldn’t happen, April commentators? Didn’t you say that would be… wait… let me make sure I get this right… Orioles? The Baltimore Orioles? Were you… wrong?!

Tied for… first? But… didn’t you say that couldn’t happen, April commentators? Didn’t you say that would be… wait… let me make sure I get this right… Orioles? The Baltimore Orioles? Were you… wrong?!

Was that title long enough?

Because I meant to say “were you really-really-really-really-really wrong? And when we saidit’s early, sports commentators,and you were like, I’m going to make fun of your hopes and dreams for a few hours on every blog and radio show I can find and inspire your coworkers to leave brooms on your desk, it was, in fact, too early to make broad generalizations?”

So, imagine that’s tacked onto the headline for this piece. And yes, if you’re feeling nostalgic, click on some of those links.

I think the following commercial fits recent Sox activities to a tee. Ahem:

See, Detroit? You’re the kid. And that VW symbol? It’s really a B. And Cleveland, you’re the adult guy at the end. And Jorge Posada, I’m sorry but every blog post is NOT ABOUT YOU!

So yes, ladies and gentlemen, the Tigers were, no doubt, losers. But the real losers this week? Not Detroit. No, not even Cleveland. The REAL losers were sports commentators and bloggers who were making fun of us in April.

And Buck Showalter.

Oh-oh-oh- and Jorge Posada.

And Johnny Damon!

And Dominique Strauss-Kahn!

Wait… what were we talking about again?

Right. The Red Sox.

Go us! The Yankees play at 10:10. Stupid west coast games. Say they manage to lose…

First alone, baby.

So, kiddies, stay up late for me and cheer on our Washington brethren, okay? Because I have to get up at 5 a.m. to shoot a Memorial Day ceremony.

Oh, and could someone ask the rain to stop? Because I want to wear a sundress. Thanks.

~L

PS- April sports commentators, you might find this helpful!

  1. FireDannyAinge
    May 26, 2011 at 7:34 pm | #1

    Please point me in the direction of Johnny Damon making fun of us. What a blog I could write about him.

  2. May 26, 2011 at 11:17 pm | #2

    Remember all that crap earlier this year about “you’re welcome for making it fun again,” something like that?
    i hate him worse than you hate this danny ainge fellow.

  3. FireDannyAinge
    May 26, 2011 at 11:35 pm | #3

    NO ONE hates ANYONE worse then I hate Danny Ainge. I could prove it but it would make me look bad but believe me I win:)

  4. May 26, 2011 at 11:36 pm | #4

    NO ONE hates ANYONE worse than I hate Johnny Damon. I prove it every day with my hate.
    I like your use of capital letters. It is very posh.

    • FireDannyAinge
      May 27, 2011 at 10:08 pm | #5

      You are wrong. Wrong, wrong WRONG. Danny Ainge is the Yankees times infinity (beat that)

      • May 27, 2011 at 11:49 pm | #6

        Me=never wrong.
        Obviously.

  5. Jup
    May 27, 2011 at 8:36 am | #7

    Geez! Posada is so vain. Why does he think all these posts are about him?!

    Is that reference too dated? I’m not sure I’m even old enough to make that reference, but I feel it might be too dated….

    I promise, I will be up cheering on the Mariners enough to cover your absence.

  6. May 27, 2011 at 10:50 am | #8

    I said the Red Sox would be fine in April while you all were looking for the bridges. I want another cookie. Or a cereal…perhaps Coco Crisp?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

