Home > Sox Game Recaps > Wake joins the time machine club

Wake joins the time machine club

As 2007 Beckett and 2007 Dice-K did before him, vintage Wake heard our cries from through the time space continuum and broke into the time machine (I think they keep it in the Green Monster, but I’m not sure). He kidnapped new, spastic Wake and sent him to Bahia Honda (that’s in Florida) and came in from some old school knuckle action.

And the rest… well, that will be history.

How’s about the rock wars last night? When people hit my players, I get angry. Byrd: clearly an accident, people. No one purposely pegs someone in the face. Right, WOOD?

“I’m [ticked] off, I just got hit with a 97-mph fastball,” Lowrie said of his thoughts walking to first base. “I mean, I understand the situation, but I’m [ticked] off.”

What do you think he really said?

And my husband is extending his hit streak! 10 games! And, the humble saint, he didn’t even know. How’s that for humility? (ahem-ahem, FDA)

Youkilis said he didn’t know he had a hitting streak, “But now I guess I do.”

Speaking of records, hit 72 times, Youk! Poor baby.

“I understand the whole thing,” he said. “But you throw it once and you miss, and then you throw it again. I don’t know. I guess they felt like they needed to get one in.

“The other day they were upset, because they didn’t like the warning when I got hit. They were saying two guys got hit to one. So I guess now we’re even until 100 years from now when we play again.”

On Saturday night, Youkilis moved past Mo Vaughn to become the Red Sox’s all-time hit-by-pitch leader when he was plunked by Carlos Zambrano.

“It seems like I’m always the one getting hit,” said Youkilis.

.5, people! And it’s off to Carey town we go… Drew Carey town…

~L

  1. May 23, 2011 at 8:13 am

    “And my husband is extending his hit streak!” (I just wanted to retype that. No further comment required.)

  2. May 23, 2011 at 11:51 am

    You’re the only girl I know of that actually thinks Kevin Youkilis is a good looking dude. But thats cool. I can’t hold grudges against the Youk anyway.

  3. Jup
    May 23, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    I’m sure Justin Masterson will be a good host and willingly lose tonight for the Red Sox’s cause, right?

  4. FireDannyAinge
    May 23, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Justin likes to beat us. In fact his only good games are usually against us. Now that he has started off 5-1 maybe he will finally suck against us.

    Youkilis is full of it (ahem ahem Soxy):)

  5. May 23, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    If “it” is AWESOME. I think you are intimidated by the relationship I have with Kevin Youkilis. You shouldn’t be. We try to be “real” and “down-to-earth” and accessible. You know, so people like you don’t have to be intimidated by our awesome relationship.

    • FireDannyAinge
      May 23, 2011 at 10:37 pm

      I am being a true friend. I think you deserve better. I am going to find you a single guy on the sox. let me look around and see what I can find. Off hand I know Jed isn’t married yet but his fiance is way smart. Let me look.

      • May 23, 2011 at 10:58 pm

        alas, there is no other for me.

  6. FireDannyAinge
    May 23, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    toosoxy :
    alas, there is no other for me.

    I know for a fact there is another for you. Youkilis is a rebound guy for you cuz Tek got engaged to the baseball stalker lady that used to date Nick Swisher.

  7. May 23, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    Please. Youk and I have been together for many years now.
    I like Tek, don’t get me wrong… but he has always been more of a father figure. Like the Alan Thicke of my life.

  8. May 24, 2011 at 8:21 am

    And I thought soap operas were being cancelled…this one’s just starting…Days Of Our Youk…One Youk To Live…General Youk…All My Youk…The Youk And The Restless…Guiding Youk.

    • May 24, 2011 at 10:59 am

      I’m not good at sharing my soap operas. This one is on a private channel. Oh, that was witty. Such witticism.

  9. May 24, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Tim Wakefield is amazingly awesomely amazing. And awesome, too. He just never quits. I keep thinking he should retire. And he keeps coming back. And pitching like he did in that game. Unreal. Oh, and I don’t begrudge your thing with Youk. Go right ahead. He’s the Greek God of Walks. And HBP.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

