Home > Drunken Live Blogging, Previews and pep talks > RAIN! YOU ARE RUINING MY WEEK!

RAIN! YOU ARE RUINING MY WEEK!

Thunder. Lightening. Allllllllll night.

New apartment: one wall of my bedroom is just a window. Vaulted ceiling with high windows on the other side. Beautiful. Mountain views. I can see poetic things like ponds and Canadian geese.

And in a thunderstorm, I get to see a mini-apocalypse of surging water, branches and lightening.

It’s cool to say that you like things like walks in the rain. That you like the flash of lightning. That you find it thrilling.

See… I hate lightning. I hate thunder. And I HATE being cold. Rainy walks=cold. And I’m not a fan of shuddering puppies who feel they must sleep ON you. All. Night.

Did I mention I got NO SLEEP? I hate being tired.

You know what else I hate?

RAIN DELAYS.

Let’s get this party started, people. I have a phone interview with local rescue workers who’ve been dispatched to Missouri at 8 p.m. Give me something to be cheery about!

So, rainy day thoughts anyone? Who else hates walks in the rain?

Gooooooo Red Sox!

I’ll blog part of this thing. You know. If it happens.

8:51. 1-0. Sorry, Masterson. But, you know, not really to the sorry.

Clay, I would appreciate it if you didn’t walk people. Especially not in the third inning. Totally should have explained that.

In other news, I’m sure you’ve heard about Dice-K by now…

A definite possibility that he might not play again this season. Which is bum-worthy. Because I can just picture that sad Dice-K face in my head. You know the one. Here’s to hoping he’s okay…

2 outs! That’s right, Clay. Do it for Dice-K.

—-

End of the third! K-Youk is up! Love.

Oh, Masterson! You look so little up there. All by yourself. Our little boy is all grown up…

—-

Jup (check out her blog. It’s swell) has this nickname for you, Masterson: Fetus. I think it works admirably.

I regret to interrupt this broadcast with a DIRE WARNING. Jenks could return. And soon. The walls themselves, they tremble.

Okay. Back to your regularly scheduled Indian-beat-down.

It’s okay, K-Youk. I love you. And Ortiz, swell single, baby.

3 outs. Crap.

Masterson! *fist shake*

Is anyone else kind of… um… proud?

—-

Damnit, Clay.

Cabrera homers. 1-1.

Shin-Soo Choo. I remember making fun of your name… now I’m going to make fun of your lame ground out. And your name. Who am I kidding? I love your name. It rhymes. I love rhyming.

—-

End of the fourth. 3-2 hits… still 1-1.

2-1! BEAUTIFUL left field homer by Crawford. Earnin’ his keep.

—-

End of the 5th. 9:38. Gonz up. Which is good news for everyone. You know. Except FETUS.

And Gonz walks. I am not arguing… really, I’m not… but two of those looked like strikes to me…

I’m going to ignore that double play. I am not even going to comment on it. Nope.

Asdrubal. I love your name.

Really, Cleveland. You have some great names.

End of 6. Still 2-1 us…

Do you think Drew Carey is watching this?

Start of the 8. Salty up. I am reading a magazine. It’s that type of game. At least I am not working.

—-

Pedroia on first. A walk. Two outs. And Gonz at the plate. Exactly what we want…

And he’s walking too!

Pitching change? But why? We love Masterson…

And Gonz was almost at first…

—-

And Gonz singles. Which is… um… kind of the same thing, when you think about it. Man on first and second. Come on, Youkie-poo. Don’t leave them stranded… Poor baby. Was hit by a pitch earlier. AGAIN.

I looked away. Is Cleveland changing pitchers again? Really? What’s wrong, Drew Carey? Problems in your bull pen?

And I was complimenting Cleveland names. Shin-Soo. Abrudabababael. (well, it was kind of like that). Joe Smith? Really?!

Grounded INTO DP? Oh.

Yikes.

So much waiting in this game. Anyone have any good knock knock jokes?

Daniel Bard. Remember the other day when Matt Albers pitched? It was supposed to be you. Don’t let us down.

DAMN IT, BARD. 2-2.

CABRERA? Stupid, stupid Bard.

3-2. THEM.

Damn it.

Rich Hill. Do you see what Bard is doing to us? Fix it. Fix it good. Annnnnnnnnnnnnnd I’m getting Albers flashbacks. You better fix this, Richie.

Cabrera, you are pissing me off.

9th inninggggggggggg

Two on base. This is the part where I start to hope before being terribly, terribly crushed.

Damn it. See?

Blame it on the rain.

Rain, I blame THIS on you too. Pedroia better be okay.

But the Bruins won. So that’s happy.

  1. FireDannyAinge
    May 23, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    I am trying to avoid hockey and what do I see when I come here. A big lightening bolt. Ughh (You know like Lightening from Tampa Bay who the Bruins are playing right now) I think I am going to throw up.

  2. May 23, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Throw up on Bard. Because he threw up on our lead.

  3. FireDannyAinge
    May 23, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    Will do. Will do.

    • May 23, 2011 at 11:45 pm

      This game was just horrible. I’m trying to think of something good… some shining redemption in that vomitous muck and I can’t. Pedroia. Ankle. Bard. Suckage. Blah.

  4. FireDannyAinge
    May 23, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    I was so nervous about the Bruins I could barely watch the Sox. Now I am watching teh NBA try and fix another game for the great white hope. (Dirk you suck) Breathing.

    Clay did a good job at least. Pedroia seems okay at least he told Francona he was okay.

  5. May 23, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    Yeah? Well remember that time Jenks told Tito he was okay?
    You people and your silly basketball. I just don’t get it.

  6. Jup
    May 24, 2011 at 8:13 am

    It’s nice to know that someone appreciates my nickname for Masterson. You wouldn’t believe the looks I’d get at Fenway when I’d shout, “C’mon Fetus!” People just didn’t get it…

    • May 24, 2011 at 8:37 am

      Then they are clearly blind! The kid is a fetus in a hat.

  7. May 24, 2011 at 8:32 am

    “You people and your “silly basketball”? Hurtful. That is a slur worth at least $50K. Bruins came up large. That was an excellent hockey game. Tampa Bay played well and just got beat by a better team. Series will probably go 7 so FDA better medicate starting now. Stanley Cup Finals should be great theatre no matter who gets there. As for rain, it has rained here each day since May 14th. Today is the 24th. It has already rained once. It is expected to rain the rest of the week into the weekend. I am grateful unlike folks in ALA and MO I still have a house, but this weather can be a grind.

  8. FireDannyAinge
    May 24, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    I made a deal with whomever that if the Bruins win this series they are winning the whole thing. If they don’t win this series then we weren’t going to win the Stanley cup anyway so all is good. Plus my Timmy is finally getting some respect.

    I used to be a huge basketball fan now I hate so many people it isn’t fun anymore.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

