Home > Previews and pep talks > Club DL gets a new member

Club DL gets a new member

Daisuke joins Lackey on the DL.

Is anyone surprised?

And… in exchange… we get

Michael Bowden!

Why this is good for me: I can say, hi, Michael Bowden, and somewhere out there, he might actually know who I am. Of course, he doesn’t know me as Lauren, the dazzlingly beautiful blogger with a sparkling personality and genius wit, you know, like you guys know me.

He knows me as “that girl with the sign(s).”

See, when I lived in Charlotte… still no Red Sox. So I compensated with Knights (White Sox affil). See, for most of the year, I faked White Soxism. I even saw Peavy pitch. I wore the hat. I drank the beer. I meshed. I had to, see. I needed baseball.

But… once a year… when the PawSox were in town… to Knight horror, I ditched all my bandwagon gear for my Red Sox hat and got loud. Oh. And I got signs.

Remember that time Aaron Bates got a homer with the Red Sox? I did. So, when I saw his name in the PawSox lineup, I got a little delirious and that’s how it started. When you’re Fenway deprived as long I’ve been, you take what you can get, and you RUN with it.

Well, according to Bates, I’m the first person to make a sign. Well, multiple signs. You know, with things like, “Bates is great.” Really witty stuff like that.

He remembered me when they came back the next year.

And I, feeling it was my duty as a good little Knights turncoat, would make multiple signs. Tons of signs. And I would pass them out to people with Red Sox hats on.

Bowden, you got a sign. Remember that time you pointed and laughed at me? I do. It was one of those good-natured laughs. A good counter to the glare from all my Knights-faithful friends.

Did you know that NO ONE makes signs in Fort Mill? NO ONE?

They needed me. It’s sad, really. I wonder how they’re dealing with my absence…

A rainout and now it’s back to the grind. Clay, darling, don’t suck.

~L

  1. cybellekate
    May 18, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    After hiding behind my hands and cringing with every throw for awhile I started to relax a little during Clay’s last outing. (Wankees “Kaboom”-fest.) I started thinking he reminded me of someone but I couldn’t put my finger on it at first. Who…is…it…. Hm. Then it hit me. He reminded me of Clay Buccholz. Of “No-Hitter” fame. And “doing really well last year” fame. And “everyone says he’s got stuff” fame. Let’s hope he can sit on a mountain top and re-find himself so he can be known for “sitting on a mountain top and re-finding himself” fame. :-D

  2. May 18, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    My sign is Gemini. I have neither made a sign saying that, nor have I desired someone flash me a sign saying that. “Bates is great” IS very clever, clearly a by-product of that genius wit. Cybellekate, you can uncover your eyes for good now. I stopped by this site to try to calm everyone’s nerves down in early April and ever since things have turned around. I think Clay is seated and found!

  3. FireDannyAinge
    May 18, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    Rain Rain , go away.

    Little Papi and little victor were running around the field today playing catch. It was super cute.

  4. Jup
    May 19, 2011 at 9:26 am

    There was no need to worry. Clay absolutely did not suck. Try not to miss Dice and Lackey too much.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

