Home > Sox Game Recaps > Kevin Youkilis didn’t call me back because he was busy scoring runs.

Kevin Youkilis didn’t call me back because he was busy scoring runs.

After an irrationally stressful game, we proved we can hit…

It feels good to call K-Youk my MVP and not be using my I-am-irreconcilably-in-love-with-the-man brand of bias.

Gonz was okay too.

Dice-K? You stress me out, dear.

And our new Iglesias sprite? Not bad.

All in all, my feelings can best be expressed through the semi-animatronic classic, “Babe.”

“Babe Pig in the City” was better.

~L

  1. Jeb
    May 8, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Lauren, I’m awarding you one million cool points for mentioning “Babe”. Seriously. One of my all time favorites.

    I disagree that “Babe: Pig in the City” was better. It’s really damn good (in its own off-kilter way) but nothing trumps the original!

    In more important news, did you see the Pirates are now at .500? In May? This hasn’t happened in six years! I should have started that Pirates blog! I’ve not made a mistake this big since I sold my Netflix stock when it hit $35 a share.

  2. FireDannyAinge
    May 8, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Dear Lauren,

    Youkilis gets paid to hit.

    Love FDA

    • May 8, 2011 at 9:49 pm

      Yeah? Well, Lackey’s paid to pitch.

  3. May 9, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Um…I think all the Red Sox get paid, don’t they? Jeb – not too late to get on that Pirates bandwagon and fire up a blog. If they dump salary again this summer you’ll have plenty to write about!

  4. Jeb
    May 9, 2011 at 10:59 am

    That would be my luck. If I start a blog, the odds of a nine game losing streak increase to 87%. I’m looking forward to the deal at the trade deadline where they trade the entire starting lineup for two minor leaguers and a sandwich from Primanti Bros.

  5. May 9, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    But, Jeb- more people read your blog when you’re losing. Really. I get 200+ hits a day when we’re losing. Half, if that, when we win.
    It’s an interesting pattern.

  6. May 9, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Jeb – you could always show pictures of the sandwiches. I’ve seen those bad boys on food channels and they absolutely rule.

  7. Jeb
    May 9, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Lauren, I’m not sure if your traffic patterns would be applicable to my situation. You pull for Red Sox Nation so you will attract despondent fans and cocky haters. A solid portion of the population probably believes Pittsburgh is triple-A. Are people going to waste their time to go to a blog on the Pirates to say “PITTSBURGH SUCKS!” after another loss? It’s a waste of time and they’re not telling me anything I didn’t already know.

  8. May 9, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    i would totally write “pittsburgh sucks” all over your blog. i’d do that for you.
    you know, ’cause i’m a good friend. :)

  9. FireDannyAinge
    May 9, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    We would never say the Pirates suck. We don’t play them. We have to play a team to hate them.

  10. May 9, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    For Jeb, we could make an exception.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

