Home > Previews and pep talks > Dancin’ on a cloud!

Dancin’ on a cloud!

Red Sox Nation was singing in the rain last night… what a glorious feeling! We’re happy again!

“We’re not going to win. We’re not going to lose,’’ manager Terry Francona said.

Profound, Tito.

With John Lackey’s start being skipped (because of the rain… hah, yeah right) and Dice-K’s outing pushed until Monday… we only need to be marginally paranoid until… oh… Monday…

Of course, the change up did give our illustrious pitching coach the chance to say weird things to reporters.

“John’s got stuff,” pitching coach Curt Young said.

Okay. Now you’re just embarrassing us all.

Unless by stuff you mean vacant eyes and a useless ERA.

The Toronto series opener will be Clay Buchholz’ first start since handily accepting a pay raise.

Remember Beckett’s first start after HIS PAY RAISE?

But I digress. It’s an off-day. The sun is shining (here, anyway), the birds are chirping. I’ve got an early deadline and at least 20 hours of work ahead of me today…

So let’s turn our attention to Mr. Positivity, shall we? David Ortiz ALWAYS has chipper things to say to the nation.

Wait, FRUSTRATED? You, Papi?

“I never use that word, but I have to now,” Ortiz said. “The coaches and the manager, they’re doing their best. They can’t go out there and hit and pitch and catch for us. … They put together for us what we need to do, but after that, it’s on us. We got to take over. They can do nothing else.”

Well… um… they could make some tough decisions about their rotation, Papi.

“I know it’s depressing,’’ said David Ortiz. “I know it’s early in the season, but this is the Red Sox. I’m not used to that.

Okay… and the Papi pep talk starts… when?

“Pretty much everybody’s working really hard right now,’’ he said. “Everybody is trying. That’s why I’m one of the guys that believes that we’re going to turn things around because you don’t see anybody taking anything for granted right now.

“Everybody’s worried, I’m not going to lie to you. Everybody’s working their butt off just to get things better. Things are just not coming the way we expected right now, but everybody is trying to change things around.’’

Um.

You call that a pep talk????

Someone has GOT to do better than that.

“If it was a football season, 2-9 would be like being almost 0-1,’’ said Johnny Damon. “But they’ll be fine. They’ve got enough bats, they’ve got enough pitching.’’

I think I threw up a little in my mouth.

—–

ADDENDUM: 1 p.m.: While going through sports blogs (that’s how I occupy my waiting-on-a-phone-call time at work), I came across this article that I think the Nation will find inspiring. It’s about a guy who makes coming to Fenway Park his opening day tradition, whether he has a ticket or not. Losses don’t phase this guy. Slumps don’t phase this guy.

The quote I liked?

“I am one of the faithful,” Benson said.  “I keep the faith for my father’s generation.  They didn’t see the Red Sox win for the longest time, so I always keep the faith for them no matter what.”

Inspired yet? I am a little…

  1. scooterb1
    April 14, 2011 at 8:27 am

    Lauren, since you visited my blog yesterday, I thought I’d return the favor. And even though I’m a Yankee fan, I really liked your blog! See? We can all get along. (As a matter of fact, I’m putting a link to it on my page.)

    Funny stuff about the pep-talk and “John’s got stuff.” Francona’s too good a manager and the team is too good to be in last place. They’ve dug themselves a nice hole, but they will slowly creep out of it. And no better place to start than beating up on the Jays, I always say.

  2. April 14, 2011 at 8:41 am

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Since you said you hoped we booed Johnny Damon, I’ll let your Yankees hat slide. Today.
    Yes, a Jay smackdown would be a pleasant pick-me-up, I must say…

  3. April 14, 2011 at 8:53 am

    Pay raises can backfire in all sports…this should be interesting…it is refreshing to see Yankees and Red Sox fans can get along!

  4. April 14, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I’ll be honest, I started hating Damon once he started growing out his hair… now Tom Brady is doing the same… ugh.

  5. April 14, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Eh… meant to post this in the caveman blog post lol.

  1. April 17, 2011 at 10:03 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

