Home > Scary Red Sox Rants > Adults don’t have Youk posters on their mirrors.

Adults don’t have Youk posters on their mirrors.

 I am 26-years-old. That’s adult, right? It’s more than adult on paper. It’s practically thirty, really, and thirty-year-olds should have adult dwellings, yes?

As real-life buds know… I just moved into the new house. It’s all mine. (well, half of it. It’s a duplex). It has adult things like a garage, washer-dryer, fenced in yard, creek, driveway, yard…

I have an adult job, adult car payments and now an adult house.

Why then, does it look like a teenager lives there?

It could be the occasional stuffed animal. Or… and this is a big or, it could be the incessant Sox paraphernalia. Seriously, it’s in danger of looking like a college dorm room. It’s bad. And yet, I can’t bring myself to get rid of any of it, even (especially) the pink stuff.

Joel offered some advice while carrying couches for me Saturday- “confine the Sox stuff to the bedroom.”

Okay, sure.

Clippings, old Sox calendar pages with images of Yaz, of Williams… and the Youk. All the Youk paraphernalia. And the hats… the hats. Add that to my adult furniture, my antique secretary with the glass windows… and it looks like Jimmy Fallon took over his grandma’s bedroom.

Whether I confine it to one room or just scatter it like Green Monster vomit all over my house, it’s excessive. And I’m painfully aware of it.

I’m 26-years-old, I tell myself. An adult.

How does one compromise fanhood with style? Because when you walk into my house, I really don’t want you to think a seventeen-year-old lives here. My face and pigtails make my age difficult enough to buy… I get carded at movies, after all… don’t card me in my own house…

Any suggestions?

Categories: Scary Red Sox Rants
  1. April 19, 2010 at 9:56 pm | #1

    Lauren:

    I’m 41, married, and have owned my own house for almost 5 years, and my bedroom and my home office look like the Red Sox threw up in them…

    What’s my excuse…LOL

    Hope you are well!

  2. April 1, 2011 at 12:06 pm | #2

    Don’t fret, Soxy. I’m a lot older than you are and the Sox paraphernalia abounds. I have had more years to collect. In my world, you are normal. Once you are bitten by Red Sox Fever, you never recover! Enjoy it! Happy opening day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

